How/why does a wireless card just stop working? - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2005, 02:23 PM   #1
pax
ONE
love, blood, life
 
pax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Ewen's new American home
Posts: 11,412
Local Time: 09:31 AM
How/why does a wireless card just stop working?

We have wireless DSL at my house, for which I use my laptop and a USB wireless card. Today the Internet was acting a little funky, so I turned off the DSL box and turned it back on, and then tried plugging my computer in with the Ethernet cord (which is how I'm talking to you all right now).

Somehow, though, my computer...like, doesn't know my wireless card is there anymore! I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling the software for it, unplugging it and plugging it back in...to no avail.

What is my computer trying to tell me? Anyone have any ideas?
__________________

__________________
and you hunger for the time
time to heal, desire, time


Join Amnesty.
pax is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:10 PM   #2
An Angel In Devil's Shoes
 
ABEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 18,844
Local Time: 07:31 AM
have you rebooted your computer?
i don't know much about DSL, but my motto always is "when in doubt, reboot"
__________________

__________________
ABEL is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:43 PM   #3
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,887
Local Time: 08:31 AM
It's stopped working because you have a crap adapter (D-Link) that's causing everyone, it seems, who have that same adapter severe problems....I've been looking up ways to rectify your problem with it on network forums etc.

My advice would be to remove it from your PC, take it back to the store and get your money back. I've seen your purse/wallet....you're bound to still have the receipt.
__________________
ewen is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 09:41 PM   #4
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 08:31 AM
Mine stops working a lot. I bought the cheapest one I could find, which was a D-Link Air DWL-650 for $19. I can tell when it's being stupid b/c one of the green lights will blink, instead of both of them being on solid. Usually, all I have to do is pop it out for 5 seconds, push it back in, open the wireless network, and do the repair/renew the IP address and then it will connect again. Sometimes I have to do this at work/school where our wireless is setup to connect and authenticate autimatically. Maybe it's just a crappy card.

One thing to check is sometimes these pieces of hardware come with their own configuration software. The wireless configuration that comes with Windows is really all you need, and on some networks, having additional config utilities makes neither work. You could try removing any software that came with the card and just installing the card itself (if you pop it in and have Windows 2000 or XP, it should install it on its own).
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 09:50 PM   #5
Blue Crack Addict
 
DaveC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: illegitimi non carborundum
Posts: 17,410
Local Time: 08:31 AM
We have a D-Link one too. It sucks big, hairy, sweaty balls.
__________________
DaveC is online now  
Old 05-28-2005, 09:17 PM   #6
Refugee
 
Techie2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: The United States of America
Posts: 1,171
Local Time: 09:31 AM
I use D-Link and have setup several clients with D-Link hardware and have had no issues with it. Linksys however would be another story...
__________________
Techie2000 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 09:25 AM   #7
BAW
The Flower
 
BAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The OC....!!!!
Posts: 11,094
Local Time: 05:31 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Techie2000
I use D-Link and have setup several clients with D-Link hardware and have had no issues with it. Linksys however would be another story...

Linksys


Sometimes when I use my laptop with a wireless card in a room at the back of my house, I lose my 2Wire connection and someone's Linksys connection takes over. It only happens at a certain time of day so I think I'm crossing over with a neighbor's signal...its really annoying.
__________________
BAW is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 09:47 AM   #8
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,887
Local Time: 08:31 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Techie2000
I use D-Link and have setup several clients with D-Link hardware and have had no issues with it. Linksys however would be another story...
You've been fortunate. The particular adapter that Pax had bought overheats extremely fast and also the software/drivers proved to be extremely buggy which resulted in the operating system hanging (severely). This is not an isolated case, as it were - when Pax told me about the problem, I looked on several IT forums and there were literally hundreds of people experiencing precisely the same issue that she was (from as far back as 2003 too).

Anyway, the problem has now been solved. She bought a new adapter by a different manufacturer.
__________________
ewen is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 10:30 AM   #9
Refugee
 
Techie2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: The United States of America
Posts: 1,171
Local Time: 09:31 AM
Ah, well now that I think about it, I've never used the DWL-650. I've been sticking to the 802.11g stuff. Well the important thing is that it works...

BAW: If you can, I would recommend going in to your wireless connection settings on your 2WIRE portal and linksys card, and changing the wireless channel it uses. That will make it less likely to have that sort of interference.
__________________
Techie2000 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 12:00 PM   #10
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 08:31 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Techie2000
Ah, well now that I think about it, I've never used the DWL-650. I've been sticking to the 802.11g stuff.
That'll do it!
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com