How to Move a Computer?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alia612

Refugee
I'll be moving across town next week, and it's the first time I've moved since I bought my computer. So what I'm wondering is, how exactly do I go about packing it up and moving it? At the moment I have a 15" flat-screen monitor, a regular PC tower, and a printer (plus keyboard, mouse, speakers and modem). What should I pack it in? Do I have to disconnect everything? (These are probably stupid questions but I've never done this before, sorry). Thanks!

Computers are fairly resilient for moving.

I'm going to sound old, but "Back in my day, we had to lock down the hard drive and keep a floppy disk (that's a 5 1/4" for you history buffs) when we moved a computer.

I'd just make sure that you don't leave the computer in a hot car and make sure the screen doesn't get scratched.

You can put the keyoard, mouse, etc. in a box or bag, the computer case should be transportable in or not in a box. If it's a CRT monitor, that should be transportable on its own no problem. If you have an LCD, I'd box it and try and put something to protect the screen from getting busted. Putting all the cables back is pretty self-explanatory, but you have the option of making sure one end of each cable is connected to something if you want to insure you are less confused. It shouldn't be too hard to move.

i had to move my computer last year. i have no idea how it was packed up, i had to work and i couldn't take off. but whatever they did, it worked and everything is fine!

my guess is they put the tower in the moving van and boxed up my keyboard, etc. so it wouldn't get lost.

i'm no help, i know.

Thanks a lot for all your help! ABEL, that link was really useful. Thanks again.

Unplug it, stick the case anywhere and the CRT monitor face down on the back seat. I have been to many a lan party and that has never failed.