How much does it cost for more memory on your pc? - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2005, 02:49 PM   #1
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Great Beyond//
Posts: 8,637
Local Time: 02:49 AM
How much does it cost for more memory on your pc?

I want to get around 40gb and was wondering how much this would cost?
__________________

__________________
Mullen4Prez is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 07:22 PM   #2
Paper Gods
Forum Administrator
 
KhanadaRhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: a vampire in the limousine
Posts: 60,609
Local Time: 08:49 PM
you can't get 40 gb of memory. all computers don't recognize more than 2 gb, and most don't even recognize past 1 gb. do you mean a 40 gb hard drive or what?

memory is ram, if that helps.
__________________

__________________
KhanadaRhodes is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 08:10 PM   #3
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 06:49 PM
I paid about $70 for a stick of 128mb I think.
__________________
Sicy is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:48 AM   #4
Blue Crack Distributor
 
tiny dancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: small town Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 87,290
Local Time: 02:49 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Sicy
I paid about $70 for a stick of 128mb I think.
I paid $90.
__________________
Into the heart of a child...
tiny dancer is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 04:17 AM   #5
Blue Crack Addict
 
bono_man2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the wrong band
Posts: 28,357
Local Time: 01:49 PM
I'm getting into building my own computers , If you want a whole new one
__________________
bono_man2002 is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:07 AM   #6
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
DrTeeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Q continuum
Posts: 4,770
Local Time: 03:49 AM

I have an ancient computer so I have to use double layer ram.
__________________
DrTeeth is online now  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:35 AM   #7
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Great Beyond//
Posts: 8,637
Local Time: 02:49 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by KhanadaRhodes
you can't get 40 gb of memory. all computers don't recognize more than 2 gb, and most don't even recognize past 1 gb. do you mean a 40 gb hard drive or what?

memory is ram, if that helps.
I mean like adding more memory to my pc. I want to upgrade an extra 40gb.
__________________
Mullen4Prez is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:42 AM   #8
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
DrTeeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Q continuum
Posts: 4,770
Local Time: 03:49 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by Mullen4Prez


I mean like adding more memory to my pc. I want to upgrade an extra 40gb.
I guess you mean an extra harddrive then.
__________________
DrTeeth is online now  
Old 06-03-2005, 06:31 AM   #9
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Great Beyond//
Posts: 8,637
Local Time: 02:49 AM
Yea, any idea on how much it would cost?
__________________
Mullen4Prez is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 08:17 AM   #10
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 06:49 PM
Hard drive is not memory.
__________________
Sicy is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 08:25 AM   #11
Blue Crack Distributor
 
LarryMullen's POPAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'll be up with the sun, I'm not coming down...
Posts: 53,698
Local Time: 09:49 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by Sicy
Hard drive is not memory.

I didn't know this until my uncle told me.


I need to start backing up all of my files and such this weekend.
__________________
LarryMullen's POPAngel is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 09:25 AM   #12
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 09:49 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Sicy
Hard drive is not memory.
Mullen, there are three types of computer memory: hard drive, RAM, and cache (they get smaller and faster, respectively).

By 40GB you must mean a new, or second, hard drive. You can get either an internal or external (connect via firewire or USB). I would check out newegg.com because their prices are usually way lower than popular stores like Best Buy or CompUSA. By upgrading 40 GB, do you mean adding 40GB or adding whatever brings you to 40GB total?
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 09:52 AM   #13
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Great Beyond//
Posts: 8,637
Local Time: 02:49 AM
Adding 40gb to my 80gb drive. So I want to go to 120gb.
__________________
Mullen4Prez is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 09:55 AM   #14
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Great Beyond//
Posts: 8,637
Local Time: 02:49 AM
Would something like that do? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16840999307

Thanks for everyones help.

One question...

Whats the difference between DVD+RW and DVD+R?
__________________
Mullen4Prez is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 10:32 AM   #15
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
uwwedoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cork, Ireland... IM BACK!
Posts: 3,618
Local Time: 02:49 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Sicy
I paid about $70 for a stick of 128mb I think.
i paid $40 for 256mb in best buy while on holidays...
__________________

__________________
uwwedoogie is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com