how did you know your career was what you wanted to do???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pianorocker

Acrobat
I'm currently in my first year at college and I thought that I wanted to major in early childhood education, and eventually get a master's in Teaching English as a Second Language. The TESL is what I'm really after, but I thought that I had wanted to teach little kids. But I'm not sure now, esp. after realizing how much teaching theory I have to go through. And, in my current major, I can graduate a year early because of all my credit (which makes my parents happy), but if I switch, I'll probably be back on the normal four years. What happened is that I found out that my university has a major in international affairs, and I thought, "Well, maybe I could do that, and still get the TESL as a master's." I volunteer-teach an ESL class for adults once a week, but despite this, I'm so very confused.
My question to anyone who wants it is: how did you know what career/major was right for you? I thought I knew, I was very certain, but not now.

i sold insurance for 20 years thinking that was gonna be it but i tested for the City and got hired as a clerk typist at the Health Department in 2000. I knew at that point, I wanted to be out of clerical type positions so I interviewed on a whim for Public Health Associate in the Bureau of Environmental Health in 2002. I got the job and was appointed the co-chair on a team that was to develop a curriculum teaching 4th graders about indoor environmental health hazards. We developed it and I began teaching them in March 2004. A couple of weeks ago, due to grant awards, I got promoted to Health Educator. I teach the kids and I go out to apartment buildings and teach the tenants about the hazards of lead paint.