Hey people who know stuff about vcrs/dvd - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2002, 08:13 PM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie
FOB
 
daisybean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Born under a bad sign with a blue moon in your eyes
Posts: 8,577
Local Time: 08:52 PM
Hey people who know stuff about vcrs/dvd

okay so here is the problem I hooked up my VCR to my DVD player, so that way I don't have to keep switching the wires when I want to use my dvd or my vcr....I hooked the dvd into the vcr and the vcr into the tv, however, here is the strange thing... when I play a dvd the color goes all funny....it's like it washes out red and then it goes normal and it does this over and over. Is it my VCR, which happens to be a million years old, or is it some funny thing with the dvd player. They both work fine independant of each other, it's just together it gets flakey.



and yes, I tried using a different wire from the vcr to the tv...so I know it's not the wire.
__________________

__________________
"....But all I ever hear from you is "
daisybean is offline  
Old 12-13-2002, 08:20 PM   #2
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 05:52 PM
Normal

Same thing happened to me. You have to buy a RF modulator and hook them up through there.
You can get them at Best Buy, Radio Shack etc.
__________________

__________________
Sicy is offline  
Old 12-13-2002, 08:23 PM   #3
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 05:52 PM
info

http://hometheater.about.com/library.../aa020402a.htm
__________________
Sicy is offline  
Old 12-13-2002, 08:27 PM   #4
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 08:52 PM
The flashing red thing is Macrovision, which is activated anytime you put your DVD player through anything except the television. In other words, if you can get it through your VCR, you could theoretically copy the DVD on a VHS recorder, and the movie industry doesn't want that. Hence, the invention of Macrovision, which is encoded on most DVD discs.

Let's all give three cheers to big business and their big fat pain in the ass.

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 12-14-2002, 04:11 AM   #5
Rock n' Roll Doggie
FOB
 
daisybean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Born under a bad sign with a blue moon in your eyes
Posts: 8,577
Local Time: 08:52 PM
Thanks Sicy and melon...I will have to get one of those dumb boxes.
__________________
"....But all I ever hear from you is "
daisybean is offline  
Old 12-17-2002, 12:16 AM   #6
Refugee
 
She Is Raging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Outside Boston
Posts: 1,729
Local Time: 09:52 PM
I almost started a similar thread!


I went to watch a DVD tonight... picture is fine, everything else was fine... I just have no audio! I went through all the settings and troubleshooting...with no luck. I played with all my TV volumes as well. Highly frustrating. Anyone have any ideas?
__________________
She Is Raging is offline  
Old 12-17-2002, 12:27 AM   #7
Paper Gods
Forum Administrator
 
KhanadaRhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: a vampire in the limousine
Posts: 60,598
Local Time: 07:52 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Sicy
Same thing happened to me. You have to buy a RF modulator and hook them up through there.
this so works.
__________________
KhanadaRhodes is offline  
Old 12-17-2002, 12:56 PM   #8
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 05:52 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by She ls Raging
I almost started a similar thread!


I went to watch a DVD tonight... picture is fine, everything else was fine... I just have no audio! I went through all the settings and troubleshooting...with no luck. I played with all my TV volumes as well. Highly frustrating. Anyone have any ideas?
That's weird. You have the video and audio plugs plugged in the right slots I presume?
__________________
Sicy is offline  
Old 12-17-2002, 10:19 PM   #9
Paper Gods
Forum Administrator
 
KhanadaRhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: a vampire in the limousine
Posts: 60,598
Local Time: 07:52 PM
in case you need to know, since some plugs aren't colour corded:

yellow: video
white: left audio
red: right audio

if it's a mono tv, you use the yellow and red plugs only.
__________________
KhanadaRhodes is offline  
Old 12-18-2002, 11:58 PM   #10
Refugee
 
She Is Raging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Outside Boston
Posts: 1,729
Local Time: 09:52 PM
Yeah.... I used it the day before , didnt touch anything and now I have no audio I checked to make sure that nothing was loose or anything either. I dont get it!

I'm bummer too because my Heat Miser DVD came in the mail today and I want to watch it!
__________________

__________________
She Is Raging is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com