Hard drive installation - HELP! - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2003, 09:31 AM   #1
I Serve Larry's Stick
 
clarityat3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 2,996
Local Time: 10:05 AM
Hard drive installation - HELP!

I just bought a Western Digital 80 gig hard drive to install in my computer. When I go to actually install it with the software I get this error message: An NTFS partition has been etected that has an invalid signature. This usually indicates an unformatted partition. All NTFS partitions must be properly formatted in order to proceed. Use NT disk administrator. My OS is Windows 98 and I only have about 2 gigs of hard drive space now. I dunno what I'm doing wrong...
__________________

__________________
clarityat3am is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 09:37 AM   #2
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 10:05 AM
Did you format your drive? Boot into DOS and format the drive.

(If you don't know how, I shall return...)

Melon
__________________

__________________
melon is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 09:42 AM   #3
I Serve Larry's Stick
 
clarityat3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 2,996
Local Time: 10:05 AM
No, I don't know how to do that...
__________________
clarityat3am is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 09:46 AM   #4
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 10:05 AM
Well, first off, is this a second hard drive in your machine--i.e., the "D:" drive? Does the new drive show up in "My Computer" at all?

Or is this the primary hard drive--i.e., the "C:" drive, and you can't boot into Windows? Also what software are you trying to install?

While you're at it, what kind of computer is this? What speed? How much RAM? How old is it?

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 09:54 AM   #5
I Serve Larry's Stick
 
clarityat3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 2,996
Local Time: 10:05 AM
I don't see it in My Computer, but I thought it was showing up when I boot the computer up...in those startup screens. Yes, it's the second hard drive. Gateway, Windows 98, 500 mHz really old, RAM - erm I forget, the installation disk for the hard drive is the software I'm talking about.
__________________
clarityat3am is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 09:57 AM   #6
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 10:05 AM
Go into DOS.

(Start --> Run --> type in "command" and hit "OK")

Type in "d:" (no quotes) and hit "Enter." Tell me what it says.

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 10:03 AM   #7
I Serve Larry's Stick
 
clarityat3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 2,996
Local Time: 10:05 AM
D is my cd rom.
__________________
clarityat3am is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 10:20 AM   #8
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 10:05 AM
Well, that's a problem...lol.

Stay in DOS. Type "fdisk" (no quotes). Hit "Enter."

If you get a big long screen message that ends with "Do you want to enable large hard disk support?" Hit "Y" (enables FAT32, rather than FAT).

You will go to a menu. There should be an option 5 to change the disk you are working with. Change to "fixed disk 2." If there is no option to change the disk you are working to, do NOT go further.

If it says "Current fixed disk drive: 2" on the top, then hit option 4 ("Display Partition Information"). Tell me what it tells you.

...

FYI, with an 80 GB drive, I would highly suggest upgrading to Windows 2000 (or even XP if you have a pretty new and fast computer). Windows 98 does not have native support for drives larger than 32 GB, because of FAT32 limitations, and, even at that, you will be bleeding space due to the large cluster sizes that FAT32 will assign to this drive. For instance, think of all those little "Temporary Internet Files" that are like 1K in size, and you will easily accumulate 2000 or more of them just surfing on the internet. Each file takes up a cluster, and you will likely have 32 or 64K clusters. Those 2000 1K files, which are only 2 MB in actual usage, will really use up 64 MB or 128 MB of space, due to your cluster size. Can you imagine what a disaster that will be when you install lots of things on this drive?

I would highly suggest investing in Windows 2000 or XP, and then this process will be ridiculously easier, and you will have NTFS support, meaning you can format that 80 GB monster into 4K cluster sizes.

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 10:26 AM   #9
I Serve Larry's Stick
 
clarityat3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 2,996
Local Time: 10:05 AM
option 5 is change current fixed disk drive and it's for drive 1, is that what I want? I was hoping I wouldn't have to upgrade my OS...but if I have too I will (when I get paid again lol)
__________________
clarityat3am is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 10:29 AM   #10
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 10:05 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by clarityat3am
option 5 is change current fixed disk drive and it's for drive 1, is that what I want? I was hoping I wouldn't have to upgrade my OS...but if I have too I will (when I get paid again lol)
You want drive 2.

And, unfortunately, I think you have to upgrade. Windows 9x was not created for these relatively large hard drives.

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 10:31 AM   #11
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 10:05 AM
Wait 1 min....did you get a Western Digital boot disk with that drive? And any other instructions with it?]

Exit "FDISK" and use that disk. If not, download this little program:

http://support.wdc.com/download/dlg/dlginstall_10_0.exe

And you can make a bootable 3.5" inch floppy. The Western Digital tools are ridiculously easy, and just make sure to do all your work on the "second" hard drive, not your primary boot drive.

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 10:32 AM   #12
I Serve Larry's Stick
 
clarityat3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 2,996
Local Time: 10:05 AM
Yeah I did. When I use it it gives me that error message...no other instructions with it... How do I make sure I'm doing it to the right drive?
__________________
clarityat3am is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 10:39 AM   #13
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 10:05 AM
Well, you might be getting that error due to an old disk. Make a new disk with those new tools, and see what happens.

FDISK, now that I read, will *not* help you, unless you update it:

http://support.microsoft.com/default...;EN-US;q263044

Otherwise that drive will be recognized as 16 GB, not 80.

I know this is terribly confusing, which is why I'm suggesting you wait until you get Windows 2000. Do you need the new drive right away?

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 10:45 AM   #14
I Serve Larry's Stick
 
clarityat3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 2,996
Local Time: 10:05 AM
Well I don't NEED it right away, but I'm basically out of space on my drive now. (I should probably have upgraded my Windows forever ago anyway)
__________________
clarityat3am is offline  
Old 02-28-2003, 10:50 AM   #15
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 10:05 AM
Well, here's what I suggest you do in the meantime. Backup all of your unreplaceable files (if you have a CD burner, burn away!), and install Windows 2000 on a fresh installation. Format your drives as NTFS at that point.

If you're curious, here's an install guide:

http://www.blackviper.com/Articles/O...tall2kpro1.htm

Of course, I'll help if you have any questions.

For now, go into your TEMP folder (C:\WINDOWS\TEMP) and delete all the crap in there. I'm sure there is a lot accumulated. Reevaluate what programs you are using and don't need, and uninstall them in "Add/Remove Programs" (Control Panel). You might be surprised how much space you'll be able to recover.

Melon
__________________

__________________
melon is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com