Format C: - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2004, 07:00 AM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
DrTeeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Q continuum
Posts: 4,770
Local Time: 02:40 AM
Format C:

YAY!!!!

It's time to format my harddrive for the first time in the three years I've had this computer. Now, I believe I've got the formatting, the partitioning and the re-installing of windows XP pretty much figured out, but there's one question left. Does my computer recognize everything like my sound- and graphic-cards or do I have to install them again? How does it work with the drivers etc? Can I make a back-up?

Luckily I will have the chance to practice on my my parents' notebook which I expect back from the repair guy with a new harddrive (it was only 1 year old, Compaq sucks ).

Any help would be appreciated!!
__________________

__________________
DrTeeth is offline  
Old 06-13-2004, 11:05 AM   #2
you are what you is
 
Salome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 22,016
Local Time: 02:40 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by DrTeeth
Compaq sucks
that's the only thing I know about computers
__________________

__________________
“Some scientists claim that hydrogen, because it is so plentiful, is the basic building block of the universe. I dispute that. I say there is more stupidity than hydrogen, and that is the basic building block of the universe.”
~Frank Zappa
Salome is offline  
Old 06-13-2004, 04:28 PM   #3
Blue Crack Addict
 
nbcrusader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 22,071
Local Time: 05:40 PM
XP does a good job of recognizing sound/graphic cards on its own
__________________
nbcrusader is offline  
Old 06-13-2004, 04:36 PM   #4
Refugee
 
LoveTown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,359
Local Time: 09:40 PM
most sound and graphics cards are plug and play I believe. This means that your operating system SHOULD recognize them. However, you will want to go to the websites of the makers of your cards and update your drivers. If you don't know who makes them you might be able to get the updates through microsoft by having it search for updated drivers on the windows update page. Good luck
__________________
LoveTown is offline  
Old 06-13-2004, 10:27 PM   #5
An Angel In Devil's Shoes
 
ABEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 18,844
Local Time: 07:40 PM
i've sooo wanted to reformat my drive c for the longest time.
i've had such computer hassles for the last year and a half or longer.
i'm only running windows ME though.
it's probably not worth it though, and i should probably just wait till i get upgraded to windows XP.

__________________
ABEL is offline  
Old 06-13-2004, 10:31 PM   #6
Paper Gods
Forum Administrator
 
KhanadaRhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: a vampire in the limousine
Posts: 60,609
Local Time: 07:40 PM
when i had to reformat, my comp recognized everything i'd had installed to the computer (hardware at least!). but then again, i've got an hp which is slightly better than a compaq. but it should recognize all your sound cards and such.
__________________
KhanadaRhodes is offline  
Old 06-13-2004, 11:23 PM   #7
Refugee
 
OzAurora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: The Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,612
Local Time: 12:40 PM
Re: Format C:

Quote:
Originally posted by DrTeeth
Luckily I will have the chance to practice on my my parents' notebook which I expect back from the repair guy with a new harddrive (it was only 1 year old, Compaq sucks ).

Oh shit!!!!!

I bought a new computer this year, and guess what? its a compaq presario 2500 laptop!!!!!!

shit, shit, shit- I seriously hope nothing too major goes wrong now
__________________
OzAurora is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 09:37 PM   #8
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 08:40 PM
Yeah, if the plug-and-play doesn't work, you can download just about any driver from either a Compaq site or driver site like driverguide.com. If you're not sure, go into the Device Manager and if any are not installed correctly, they should have a red X or yellow warning symbol by it and if you right click and go to Properties, it may tell you the driver is not installed.
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 09:53 PM   #9
genius of compression
Forum Moderator
 
neutral's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: forty miles from atlanta, this is nowhere
Posts: 13,030
Local Time: 09:40 PM
It shouldn't be too hard. The XP install is pretty automated. Just boot with the XP disc and you can format and partition from there. But you probably knew that.

The only thing XP has never recognized on install for me is my TV card, but you may want to upgrade your video and sound drivers later on if you play games or something.
__________________

neutral @ interference.com
neutral is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 10:53 AM   #10
New Yorker
 
AvsGirl41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 2,948
Local Time: 06:40 PM
I just rebooted mine and a friend installed XP for me, since I only had Millenium. This is an event people look forward too?--whenever I reboot mine, I feel like I'm firebombing Dresden or something!

Anyway, we did have to go on-line and download drivers so we had sound because XP wasn't picking them up at all.
__________________
AvsGirl41 is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 12:41 PM   #11
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Mullen-Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: San Antonio/Austin, TX
Posts: 4,951
Local Time: 08:40 PM
Compaq sucks without a question It was the worst thing I could have bought. Now i've got a Dell. Seems to be working nicely
__________________
Mullen-Girl is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 12:49 PM   #12
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 08:40 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by AvsGirl41

Anyway, we did have to go on-line and download drivers so we had sound because XP wasn't picking them up at all.
This can also be the case if you have a sound or video card that was installed seperately. If you only use the sound and video capabilities built into the computer's motherboard, you shouldn't have to manually install drivers. But if you bought a sound or video card and installed it yourself, you may have to install it's drivers.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com