Fav & Least fav rock drummers [I promise this isn't a sad Lemon Melon rip off]

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FitzChivalry

Rock n' Roll Doggie VIP PASS
At the bottom of the ocean, in the deepest sea
I promise I had this idea a few days ago after I "Oh-My-God-Why-Didn't-I-Discover-Them-Sooner" discovered Bloc Party and fell IN LOVE with Matt Tong's drumming. I just haven't posted this until now.

Now I'm not a drummer, I'm not a musician and I definitely have no rhythm . . . . . so this is entirely from a layman, rock 'n roll fan's perspective. So, here goes, some of my favorite drummers (and I can't wait to hear yours):

THE Drumming God: John "Gonzo" Bonham

103622pw400.jpg

The Smashing Pumpkins' Jimmy Chamberlin

jimmy.jpg

Phil Collins (Yes, I said Phil Collins!!! Just go listen to "Los Endos" and then get back to me.)

hitmen1gretsch.jpg

Talking Heads' Chris Frantz

puzzle_chris.jpg

Bloc Party - Matt Tong

mattTong.jpeg

And, of course, the Mullen, Jr. (Just because I've always wanted to play the kick-ass ending part on "With or Without You" from Rattle & Hum)

larry0074.jpg

And on the flip side

Some of the most boring rock drumming:

Coldplay's Will Champion (even before I began loathing Coldplay and thought they were okay, I thought he was a boring drummer)

R.E.M.'s Bill Berry (I know I'm going to get crucified for this one, but . . . . hey, what can I say?)

Okay, now let's hear yours! :hyper:

Last edited:
FAVS:
Niel Peart - RUSH
John Bonham _ Zep
Drummer for Missing Persons (I can't remember his name)
Kieth Moon - The Who
Stewart Copeland- The Police

Least Favs:
I really can't think of anyone

Faves

John Bonham
Neil Peart
Ian Paice
Mike Portnoy
Taylor Hawkins

Least

no one really, Stewart Copeland's tendency to rush when playing live always bothered me a bit.