Fargo - help needed - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login

Old 02-14-2002, 05:36 PM   #1
Refugee

Local Time: 06:22 PM
Fargo - help needed

Movie buffs, please help me out! I'm not good at arty-farty, so could someone please explain to me why Fargo is so great? I just watched it and it just didn't do anything for me, yet it's supposed to be one of the greatest movies of all time. I'm also wondering why it's supposed to be funny... it can't be the exaggerated Scandinavian accents, can it? I feel like a complete idiot.

(On a more positive note, I watched Withnail & I earlier tonight - now that's entertainment!)

Old 02-14-2002, 05:47 PM   #2
*Stormy*

Local Time: 05:22 PM
Well part of the fascination for me is, I have an obsession with the upper midwest, Minnesota and the Dakotas. After many years of hoping, I was finally able to visit there and I loved it. The lay of the land and the buildings look different than on the east coast, and I find it interesting and exciting- so I'm a dweeb, I think it rules! I loved the part where they are driving through Minneapolis, it reminded me of my trip. The desolate North Dakota countryside also added to the allure and scariness of the movie.

Other than that, it is intriguing because it is based on a true story, and that always does more for me than fiction. I thought it was very intense, and interesting until the last moment. It was more entertaining than most action movies I have seen IMO.

To anyone else who has seen this, something does bug me- WHAT HAPPENED TO THE MONEY??!! Remember when he got out of the car along that deserted road and buried the ransom money in the snow near a fence? After he died, no one else knew where it was, so:
a) what happened to it?
b) how did they know that really happened? Was it discovered by some farmer after the spring thaw?

------------------
"I was born a MacPhisto"

Old 02-14-2002, 05:49 PM   #3