Electric Lemonade: Alcohol and vocabulary and elocution - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login

Old 05-23-2007, 09:06 PM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS

Local Time: 10:43 AM
Electric Lemonade: Alcohol and vocabulary and elocution

Does consumption of alcohol increase your vocabulary and elocution?

Because it does for me, and I find that strange. If I've been drinking, all of a sudden SAT words are spilling from my mouth in a fluent, eloquent, engaging manner.

In fact, a few weeks ago, after being at a bar with a friend and a few margaritas and Don Julio shots later, I was speaking in Spanish to 2 Hispanic women who said I wasn't doing that bad of a job. I haven't had a Spanish class in almost 12 years and the sentences were just flowing.

Now sober, I speak like a regular Joe and I'm not really the most eloquent of speakers. I know I'm a much better writer and when I write my vocabulary definitely increases, but speaking is a different story. After drinking . . . . damn! I'm making up poetry and short stories on the spot!

Of course, passed a certain point, well, yes, then drunkeness sets in and words begin to slur and jumble. But apparently, just prior to the drunk stage, I turn into an ersatz Robert Frost or Anne Tyler.

Why is this? Does anyone know? Does this happen to anyone else?

Old 05-23-2007, 09:19 PM   #2
LMP
Blue Crack Supplier

Local Time: 11:43 AM
are you Peter Griffin?

Old 05-23-2007, 09:41 PM   #3
Blue Crack Addict

Local Time: 10:43 AM
We need video
Old 05-23-2007, 09:46 PM   #4
Blue Crack Distributor

Local Time: 12:43 PM
My guess is when you're in that magical period of relaxed but not yet drunk, perhaps you become more confident and outgoing, displaying eloquence you've had all along, but generally don't use?