Dvd Player question - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2003, 10:07 AM   #1
Blue Crack Addict
 
bono_man2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the wrong band
Posts: 28,357
Local Time: 12:38 AM
Dvd Player question

hi,

lets say i wanna buy a dvd from amzaon america....amercian dvds are Region 1
i'm from australia, we of course our region is 4

my dvd player will play NTSC dvds, so my question is , will i be able to play the USA dvd?
__________________

__________________
bono_man2002 is offline  
Old 12-18-2003, 05:57 PM   #2
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 08:38 AM
That's what regions are designed to prevent. They don't want you buying American DVDs when you can buy perfectly overpriced DVDs in Region 4 - Australia.

So much for free trade.

Melon
__________________

__________________
melon is offline  
Old 12-18-2003, 07:14 PM   #3
The Fly
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 211
Local Time: 01:38 PM
either watch a different region on your computer or have a dvd player that is more flexible and can handle different regions.
__________________
The Scientist is offline  
Old 12-21-2003, 08:27 AM   #4
War Child
 
alexvilagosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 695
Local Time: 11:38 PM
You can get Multi Region DVD players for not much, even from JB Hifi or something. I think one was there for under $100 once.

There are ways to make a DVD drive multi region, but so far I've been unsuccessful, and actually screwed up my last drive with firmware to try and make it multi region.
__________________
alexvilagosh is offline  
Old 12-21-2003, 09:47 AM   #5
Blue Crack Addict
 
bono_man2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the wrong band
Posts: 28,357
Local Time: 12:38 AM
there are programs which make DVD Rom drives region free....i might just do that if i end up buying some stuff from overseas....my pc is in my room anyway
__________________
bono_man2002 is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com