computer problem - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2004, 01:55 PM   #1
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 17,927
Local Time: 03:38 AM
crys computer problem

A good friend of mine cannot get online! She replaced the modem, but it still will not go online. She has tried 2 different ISP's and has checked the phone line. What else besides the modem and the phone line could be the problem? Any suggestions or help appreciated!

No she cannot afford to take this to a 'shop'
__________________

__________________
U2Kitten is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:36 PM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 17,927
Local Time: 03:38 AM

Okay different story now. It turns out it's not the modem, it's something called 'uninterruptable power supply' What do you put in the settings to fix it?

If it means anything she had not turned the computer off for 2 weeks before this happened, and she does not have dsl.
__________________

__________________
U2Kitten is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 04:35 PM   #3
genius of compression
Forum Moderator
 
neutral's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: forty miles from atlanta, this is nowhere
Posts: 13,030
Local Time: 04:38 AM


Well, a UPS (uninterruptable power supply) is just something the computer plugs into so it won't shut down improperly if there's a power surge or something. I'm not sure how that could be keeping her from getting online unless she has the phone lines plugged into the UPS too (some of them have modem jacks) and there's something wrong with it. Can you find out if she has the phone lines plugged in to the UPS?

What happens if she tries to get online?
__________________
neutral is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 05:25 PM   #4
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 17,927
Local Time: 03:38 AM
She found that getting into the settings to see if there was some reason it couldn't sign on. It kept telling her the communication port was busy, and it wasn't! I'm not sure how she got the power thing or what she did. She does have a phone line plugged into it but she says it works okay with the phone, just not the computer. She says she keeps trying to change it but it's shutting itself off every minute or two! What has she done to that computer?

Thanks for trying to help
__________________
U2Kitten is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 05:46 PM   #5
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 03:38 AM
We offer a dial-up service where I work and have had a few cases such as this. Computers/modems are often way more sensitive than phones so even if she has a dial-tone with no static with the line run through the power strip, the computer may not like it. Have her run the phone cable straight from the wall jack to the modem and see what happens....

Also, when you say "it's shutting itself off every minute or two" is that the computer? If so, I doubt that has anything to do with getting online besides that she may have a blaster or sasser worm shutting it off. Does it give her a countdown before it shuts off? If not, is the computer hot when it shuts down? Maybe her fan is not working or she needs another one to keep the computer cool inside. They'll shut off if they get too hot. Otherwise, the computer's own power supply could be bad.
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 06:04 PM   #6
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 17,927
Local Time: 03:38 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by LivLuvAndBootlegMusic
We offer a dial-up service where I work and have had a few cases such as this. Computers/modems are often way more sensitive than phones so even if she has a dial-tone with no static with the line run through the power strip, the computer may not like it. Have her run the phone cable straight from the wall jack to the modem and see what happens....
I think it is right from the wall, I'll ask again.

Quote:
Also, when you say "it's shutting itself off every minute or two" is that the computer? If so, I doubt that has anything to do with getting online besides that she may have a blaster or sasser worm shutting it off. Does it give her a countdown before it shuts off? If not, is the computer hot when it shuts down? Maybe her fan is not working or she needs another one to keep the computer cool inside. They'll shut off if they get too hot. Otherwise, the computer's own power supply could be bad.
Oh I know what you mean, I had that awful countdown thing before! She did too for a long time. This shutting down started after she started messing with the settings so she probably set something wrong Thanks for any advice!
__________________
U2Kitten is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 06:33 PM   #7
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 17,927
Local Time: 03:38 AM
She just called me again, and this is all I can say: she fixed the shut down problem, it was something she screwed with in the settings. She just cannot get online. The phone line appears to be okay, the modem is new, the system recognizes the modem. But it will not go online.

What else could it be?
__________________
U2Kitten is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 06:58 PM   #8
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 03:38 AM
Does she have a phone cord straight from the wall into the computer? Also, most modems have two ports, one for the incoming cord and one that goes out to a phone (like it you had one wall jack and wanted a phone and computer hooked up, you can simply run the phone through the modem as long as the computer's not online). You need them in the right ports in order for it to work.
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 06:59 PM   #9
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 03:38 AM
Also, it would be extremely helpful to know exactly what error message she's getting.
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 07:09 PM   #10
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 17,927
Local Time: 03:38 AM
no modem detected or
unable to establish a connection with aol service
__________________
U2Kitten is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 07:13 PM   #11
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 03:38 AM
is the modem driver installed? (does she have windows XP?) in the system device manager you should see the modem listed and if there's a problem there will be a red X or ! sign
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 07:35 PM   #12
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 17,927
Local Time: 03:38 AM
Yeah it's XP. She installed the disc that came with the modem, and the system does say it recognizes a modem. But it will not sign onto the internet! She thinks sometimes it dials but just won't connect or sometimes it doesn't dial at all. It's weird.
__________________
U2Kitten is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 07:54 AM   #13
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 03:38 AM
Have her try a new wall jack and new phone cable.
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 12:24 PM   #14
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 17,927
Local Time: 03:38 AM
I guess she can try the cord, but she probably won't be able to change the jack. It's brand new, she just got the second phone line for the computer a month ago. Is there anything else besides the modem that could be wrong that is not allowing the internet to hook up?
__________________
U2Kitten is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 01:51 PM   #15
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 03:38 AM
"no modem detected or
unable to establish a connection with aol service"

This sounds like the modem is either incorrectly/incompletely installed and/or she can't for some reason authenticate to AOL (check the access numbers, username, password, call them to verify she's an active user).

I don't know if you can logon to AOL with a generic dial-up connection, but she could give this a try:

Go to Start > Programs > Accessories > Communications > New Connection Wizard

Choose "Connect to the Internet"
Choose "Set up manually..."
Choose "cOnnect using dial-up modem..."
Enter "AOL" as the ISP name
Enter the access number (she should have a few of those, pick one for now)
Enter the full username (ex. U2Kitten@aol.com)
Enter the password
Check only the top option
In the last window, check "Add a shortcut..."

Now there will be a new dial-up connection on the desktop. Click on that and see if it can dial in and connect. Since it's not using the AOL software, if it connects, she can open IE or whatever internet browser she's got.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com