Collecting Vinyl

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

starsgoblue

Blue Crack Addict
Can anyone explain me this? I'm thinking bout starting to collect some LPs...but I really know nothing.

For example, I found a vinyl of Pride at a record store. It was a paper sleeve and seemed nearly perfect except for an indentation from the record on the sleeve... I have no idea to tell what's good or bad though. And how important is the country of pressing in the value?

:confused: I need any knowledge available....I'm a newbie....

i have 1200-1300 lps

this is not for newbies

get yourself a way back time machine
or
if you are good
you may inherit some from an old bastard like me

are you collecting it because you want to have a valuable investment? because i think there are better ways to invest your money. if you're collecting it just cos you like having the stuff, then the only thing that matters is did you get ripped off for an un-playable piece of crap in a moldy sleeve or not. are you planning on listening to this stuff at home, or just keeping it around to have it? i don't understand collecting just for collecting's sake, so i can't help you there...but if you're collecting it just cos you want to have some cool vinyl shit to throw on the turntable to apease your nerdy side, then yeah...the only thing that matters is does the thing play.

i have a copy of the pride single as well. when you say paper sleeve was it a ps (picture sleeve)? cuz if not, don't bother unless it's dirt cheap. my copy of pride is a ps but is paper as well. i got it for like $2. i love collecting vinyls. once i move out and have some more spare moolah i'm gonna have to drag my ass down to midtown more often and finish buying out their U2 vinyls :drool: