Cable vs. Satellite, DSL vs Cable Modem...... - Page 2 - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2003, 09:30 PM   #16
New Yorker
 
Scarletwine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Outside it's Amerika
Posts: 2,746
Local Time: 05:39 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by nbcrusader


I believe DirecTV is out of the ISP business now.
No actually I just called for some pricing (not cheap), but I live in the boonies with no cable or DSL.
__________________

__________________
Scarletwine is offline  
Old 01-02-2003, 11:38 PM   #17
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
elevatedmole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On a backwards river
Posts: 3,546
Local Time: 05:39 PM
I personally have Dish Network, and I love their setup and the way it works and never have had ANY problems whatsoever since I got it in 1999.

However, DirecTV has more channels, but I don't like the way it works as much. The remote is annoying, and the menus are irritating. But that's just my opinion, after all.

On the subject of cable vs. DSL: go to http://www.dslreports.com. Very good site, and has a MASSIVE FAQ on DSL, and a good FAQ on cable, as well as similar subjects. It's really helpful.
__________________

__________________
elevatedmole is offline  
Old 01-02-2003, 11:41 PM   #18
Blue Crack Addict
 
anitram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NY
Posts: 16,297
Local Time: 05:39 PM
I started out with Cable (Rogers in Toronto, Canada) and stayed with it for about 18 months. It was pure shit, they oversubscribed, their servers couldn't handle all of us, and it came to the point where I could only go online certain times during the day because as they told me, my neighbourhood had too high of a bandwidth demand, which lead to local slow down rates which were worse than dial up. Add to that Rogers' nearly nonexistent "customer service" and I ran for my life.

Got DSL, saved my life. Wouldn't go back in a million years.
__________________
anitram is offline  
Old 01-02-2003, 11:55 PM   #19
Offishul Kitteh Doctor
Forum Moderator
 
bonosloveslave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Taking care of kitties
Posts: 9,655
Local Time: 05:39 PM
Thanks for all of the advice

We got an offer for a combo, SBC/Yahoo DSL for $30/month, dishNetwork w/ free satellite and installation for $26.99/month for the Top 100 channels, but we'll probably pay for an extra receiver ($4.99/mo) and local channels since we have crappy antennae reception ($5.99/mo). Not horrible I guess

Anybody have SBC Yahoo DSL? Any comments on it? (is that what you have nbc?)
__________________
bonosloveslave [at] interference.com
bonosloveslave is offline  
Old 01-03-2003, 09:38 AM   #20
Blue Crack Addict
 
nbcrusader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 22,071
Local Time: 02:39 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by bonosloveslave
Anybody have SBC Yahoo DSL? Any comments on it? (is that what you have nbc?)
Yes. I've had SBC for over a year now. No down time (which was a major hassle with cable). Always a fast connection.

The only drawback with DSL is that you are limited (to about 7, I think) on the number of telephone devices in your home on one phone line. Once they activate the DSL, you must install filters on all non-DSL phones, answering machines, faxes, DirecTV boxes, etc. (anything that has a phone plug). We have three phones and two DirecTV boxes pluged into our phone line - so we are under the limit.
__________________
nbcrusader is offline  
Old 01-04-2003, 12:25 PM   #21
ONE
love, blood, life
 
zonelistener's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: six convenient metro locations
Posts: 14,747
Local Time: 05:39 PM
Big Grin I used to work in the High Spped Internet Industry....Were is Kobe???

DSL is just as much shared as DSL. The line still has to go down the same city street, past every house. the further you get from the central "switching station" the slower the service.

The cable piece about many neighbors on one network was true early, but many companies have put monitors into cable systems and can increase bandwidth to specific neighborhoods were usage is high.

Sicy -

I would put oney on the bad lines in the apartment. Many apartment buildings were wired with crappy and cheap cable by landlords when Cable TV first came out. No one had the vision of High Speed Internet at the time. And many landlords do not want to put out the cash to upgrade the wiring.

Now, for stupid ATT Broadband not to figure that out....that is a different story.
__________________
zonelistener is offline  
Old 01-04-2003, 06:30 PM   #22
Paper Gods
Forum Administrator
 
KhanadaRhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: a vampire in the limousine
Posts: 60,609
Local Time: 04:39 PM
kobe is down the street. it's a lovely japanese restaurant here.

Quote:
Originally posted by zonelistener
DSL is just as much shared as DSL.
__________________
KhanadaRhodes is offline  
Old 01-04-2003, 06:41 PM   #23
Offishul Kitteh Doctor
Forum Moderator
 
bonosloveslave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Taking care of kitties
Posts: 9,655
Local Time: 05:39 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by nbcrusader

\Once they activate the DSL, you must install filters on all non-DSL phones, answering machines, faxes, DirecTV boxes, etc. (anything that has a phone plug). We have three phones and two DirecTV boxes pluged into our phone line - so we are under the limit.
Hmm, nobody bothered to tell me about filters......

Are they something you'd pick up like at Radio Shack or Best Buy?
__________________
bonosloveslave [at] interference.com
bonosloveslave is offline  
Old 01-04-2003, 07:46 PM   #24
Blue Crack Addict
 
meegannie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Norwich, England
Posts: 15,798
Local Time: 10:39 PM
YEAH. Where IS Kobe???
__________________
meegannie is offline  
Old 01-05-2003, 06:54 PM   #25
Blue Crack Addict
 
nbcrusader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 22,071
Local Time: 02:39 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by bonosloveslave


Hmm, nobody bothered to tell me about filters......

Are they something you'd pick up like at Radio Shack or Best Buy?
They come with the DSL package. If you share DSL and telephone on the same line, the filters are needed. SBC sent me a package of filters (one for a wall mounted phone, the others for regular phone lines).

__________________
nbcrusader is offline  
Old 01-05-2003, 08:08 PM   #26
War Child
 
Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Long Beach, CA USA
Posts: 778
Local Time: 10:39 PM

Well I have Charter communcations cable and there dsl. It's been okay BUT as usual they are going to increase $ and of course the services are going to go down the tube!!! Oh well!
__________________

__________________
Tech is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com