Brian Eno Appreciation Thread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

XHendrix24

Refugee
How is it possible that there's only been one thread for this man in this forum? There's about five thousand Coldplay and Radiohead threads, and this will be Brian Eno's second. On a U2 forum nonetheless. For shame, interference. For shame.

:tsk:

Anyway, I guess I'll kick off the appreciation by heaping some praise on Here Come the Warm Jets. What an album. All of you folks on here that are into "experimental" music or even just quirky pop music really must check this one out, at least. Some truly amazing work on here.

Baby's On Fire :drool:

Now... appreciate. :wink:

I just own "Music for Airports", I think is fantastic... and beautiful

I don't know which one I should get next, any suggestions?

To be honest, I'm no expert concerning his music myself, and mainly posted this after looking for reccomendations and coming up fruitless, which I would never have expected on a U2 forum, considering the man played such a large part in U2's best works. :wink:

I just picked up Taking Tiger Mountain By Strategy, Before and After Science, and Another Green World - all of which I've heard great things about - but I haven't gotten a chance to listen to them yet.

I have heard Here Come the Warm Jets and My Life in the Bush of Ghosts (his collaboration with David Byrne of Talking Heads), which are both marvelous. HCTWJ puts most of the focus on his strange (and extremely interesting, I might add) pop songs with guest musicians such as Robert Fripp, and MLITBOG puts more focus on rhythmic instrumentals. Both are brilliant in their own rights, though. I was really hoping someone could give some input on the rest of his work, but I'm not so sure if that's going to happen anymore. ;)