Australia/Windies

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cleazer

Rock n' Roll Doggie VIP PASS
Okay, we've got an England v Pakistan thread and a New Zealand hari-kari thread, but since I'm a proud resident of the Western Hemisphere, I've always been a little partial to the West Indies.

They've been down for the past few years, for the most part. But every now and then I see some really promising players for them, and I have to think that a real turnaround is possible. I'm certain that they'd like to build the team with an eye towards the 2007 World Cup.

But anyways, they're in Australia right now, playing the top team in the world, and unfortunately Australia are probably determined to solidify their #1 ranking, after the Ashes setback. Do the West Indies have a chance? Or are they guaranteed to get swept in both tests and ODIs?

The first test started a few hours ago, and after an early wicket, it looked like Ponting and Hayden were on their way to putting up a big partnership.

But Hayden fell shortly after lunch, so now Clarke is in there with Ponting.

Whoa, Clarke didn't last long at all.

Australia are currently at 109/3, and the West Indies certainly haven't been eliminated yet! :D

yertle-the-turtle said:
Lara is ridiculously off-form; I'm hoping he rediscovers his magic touch in this series.

I wonder if he'll improve on his average of 1 2/3 runs a game that he set for the World XI. :|

yertle-the-turtle said:
Lara is ridiculously off-form; I'm hoping he rediscovers his magic touch in this series.
Hope all you want, but I'm counting on folks like Gayle, Chanderpaul, and Ramdin to come through instead.

That said, it would be nice if Brian started batting again.

Interesting First Day....game seems pretty Even...prehaps the Windies just ahead.

Will have to see how they go with the bat though.