Larry's drumming.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aski

Acrobat
during the Barcelona 7. August 2005 show, during Elevation, Larry forgets to hit the drums at the right spot. Adam, Edge and Bono turns around and smiles at him.

also, during the officially released Chicago DVD, right at the beginning of City Of Blinding Lights, Larry counts in on the cymbals too early, and has to hit them twice!

sometimes i get a bit ashamed of how simple his playing actually is, even if i've been a fan of him since i was 15 years old, and he was the reason i started playing drums myself.

also, just check out '40' from the Chicago-DVD. the way he plays that last coda by himself.... it's so easy and boring. he played that last "drum solo" much more powerfully on the Joshua Tree/Lovetown tour

:hmm: Yeah, he's drumming is simple but it fits the songs, as clarityat3am says :). And he's got some driving drumbeats as well: "In A Little While" :drool: :drool:

There are some very good drummers that I personally don't like much. Eg: in a John Fogerty DVD there's this very powerful drummer, his obviously very good, but just hits the things so hard!! :lol: Maybe it's good for the music he plays, but it stands out sooo much :huh: I like Larry's drumming for U2 songs :shrug:

i dunno understand anything about technicalities of music.. but i there is some pretty sweet drumming in several songs :D
anyways, as far as i understand are non of the U2 members (ok... maaaybe edge but he ain't no Eric Clapton or Hendrix) really acknowldged for their groundbreaking musical skills.. rather how they play together and do it their own distinktiv style :)

I agree a-mole... I hate when people complain that Bono's voice was not strong or that he had a frog in his throat... you don't see U2 live because of the quality of Bono' singing!? You go for the experience, the vibe, the feeling the music gives you.