Dancing With The Devil ch. 32

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BlueSilkenSky

Rock n' Roll Doggie VIP PASS
Last time I'll see y'all on this computer, for the school is taking it away. So have yourself a merry little chapter, now...

It occurs a few days after the Oslo show, when Adam mounts the stage of the Swedish stadium to soundcheck his bass. I’m here as well, having virtually nothing else to do, and ask when Adam’s done if I can take bass lessons from him.
Adam scratches his head. “I’d be happy to do that favor, Marieke, but I don’t really know how to play myself.” Laughing, he explains that he is a self-taught musician, and wouldn’t know the first things about teaching someone else.
I shrug my shoulders. “Where’s your bass technician?”
Adam’s eyes light up. “Brilliant, Marieke. I’ll go find him.” He returns hauling another man by the elbow. “Marieke, this is Stuart. Stuart, meet Marieke.”
The two of us eye each other, shake hands, and exchange pleasantries. Stuart says, “So you want to play the bass guitar? We’ll see how this works out. Come on up here with me.” We go backstage with one final warning tossed to Adam- “Get back to work!”
Stuart helps me select one guitar to my liking. I hoist the strap over my head and gently touch the strings, feeling scared for a second. What if I break it by accident?
A pick is thrown at me, and Stuart says, “We’ll start you with basic scales. Have you ever taken music lessons?”
I shake my head. “I’ve only listened to music. I’ve never made it.”
“I’ll show you how to do it, even if it kills you,” he says, chuckling, and we begin.
After about two hours of music theory, I can still only play a few scales. Stuart says I’m a fast learner, and I feel doubtful. He’s sure to have had better students than me!