Time to De-lurk

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

japes4

The Fly
Hi Everybody,

I registered quite some time ago but for some reason I have never posted until now. In the midst of this new tour and everything I have found myself trawling through the posts more than I ever have so I thought it was about time I introduced myself.

My name is Japes and I am a graduate student of history who has just completed his doctorate (nope, I'm not 15). I am currently unemployed but I am persuing several options including teaching. Latin American history is my primary pursuit but I have many other hobbies that I am passionate about. These include travelling, following politics, movies, anime and record collecting (particularly U2).

I have loved U2 ever since I purchased the Unforgettable Fire on cassette back in 1985. Although my enthusiasm waned a bit after Zooropa I became absolutely fanatical about the band when Pop was released. Since about 1997 I've been into all things U2 and have been slowly amassing their vinyl releases. I am an audiophile so I am really particularly about which pressings are superior to others soundwise. Feel free to ask about me some of my opinions U2 or otherwise.

Until recently (bad incident), I was an avid concert goer. I have seen U2 four times, starting with Zoo Tv (first leg), then Popmart (first leg) and finally Elevation (first and third leg). I do not yet have tickets to the Vertigo tour but I really hope to see at least one show on this tour.

Its great to see so many enthusiastic fans here. I am looking forward to some really great discussions.

Japes

Hi, welcome to the forum. :wave:

Ah another vinyl collector. So which U2 releases do you have on vinyl now? I don't have many of the albums yet, been trying to build up a collection of singles etc though. I also have some bootlegs on vinyl but the sound of those can be kinda iffy. :wink: