Hey

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chulia83

Babyface
Hello everyone :wave:

another newbie here , I'm from germany and would love to share some thoughts with you about U2. My apologies in advance for any bad language mistakes ;)

U2's music was a huge part of my growing up, I remember my first actual and aware contact with their work was when "Hold me, thrill me, kiss me, kill me" was released. I was around 13 at that time.
Since then I followed their music and discovered their earlier works.

Sadly I'm late to the party when it comes to live shows with the lads - I only attended my first U2 gig in 2015 in Cologne for the IE-Tour... I came home afterwards and instantly felt that this was a very special show. It felt very intimate though the concert was set in a rather impersonal indoor arena with usually terrible acoustics. But somehow they managed to create a feeling with the stage, the lights (remembering the settings for "City of Blinding Lights" very clear, it was so beautiful <3) and the LED Screen which all made it more personal than expectet. It felt all quite warm and and friendly and the band seemed to be very close with their audience. That this is a very common U2-thing - being close with their fans and always trying to connect with them - I just learned at that time :doh: But after that gig, it suddenly came clear to me, that I really missed out a fucking great live band for YEARS. Heavy regrets on here :sad:
But I have to admit, I am a huge Muse Fan too, I spent much money on their gigs and travelling and many other great bands fell backwards for them. Now I'm a bit older and maybe a bit wiser (gigwise ;) ) and I will make sure this won't happen again in this extent in the future.

When they announced the JT30 gigs I got beyond excited and called up my friend if she would join me again, me, the nervous wreck I was back in 2015 in Cologne.