And a new Californian enters the fray...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Miggy D

War Child
Hey everyone,

I'm Mike, and I'm from Northern California. I'm currently a student at UC Davis, and studying English and Film. After I graduate in June of 2005, I plan on going to film school in either New York or LA, and then, hopefully...become a successful film director. Haha...we all have to have our dreams, right? Dream out loud.

I first became introduced to U2 back in November of 2000. I was getting ready for (high) school one morning and caught the "Beautiful Day" video on VH1. I had seen snippets of it before but it had never manged to garner my attention. This time, however, was different. I stopped brushing my teeth and I was glued to the TV for 4 minutes and 4 seconds. It just hit me like a freight train. Something in that song spoke to me like no other song had before it. I had to hear more U2.

Thank you, Napster! I searched for 'U2' and an abundancy of results came up. I downloaded the songs with titles I recognized. It was a revelation. 'This is a U2 song? And this one too? And this one? And this one!?!' It all came rushing at me at once - songs that I had heard on the radio and liked in my past, but had never bothered to research any further...they all belonged to the same band.

And then I listened to 'With or Without You.'

The song started off pleasantly enough. And then, at the 1 minute, 52 second mark...

holy crap.

When The Edge came in with that chiming, reverbed guitar...it was...I can't actually even explain how I felt. Let me try.