Music Piracy - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Just the Bang and the Clatter
Click Here to Login

Old 06-19-2012, 12:51 PM   #1
Refugee

Local Time: 05:48 PM
Music Piracy

A long and well thought out post by David Lowery (Camper Van Beethoven & Cracker.)

Letter to Emily White at NPR All Songs Considered. | The Trichordist

Old 06-19-2012, 12:53 PM   #2
Blue Meth Addict

Local Time: 04:48 PM

Old 06-19-2012, 01:03 PM   #3
The Male

Local Time: 02:48 PM
Really well said.

Now that I have a degree of disposable income, I find I am contributing more to the music industry than I was before (I'm spending something like $800-900 on concerts through October), but I still have my limitations on purchasing music. For instance, I can't remember the last time I bought an album without hearing it first. Thanks to Rhapsody, Spotify, Grooveshark, NPR streams, etc. there's absolutely no reason to buy an album blind anymore, and amazon mp3 offers really decent deals so you can buy an album here or there and not feel like a total thief.

Now.
LemonMelon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 01:06 PM   #4
Blue Meth Addict

Old 06-19-2012, 01:08 PM   #5
Rock n' Roll Doggie
FOB

I fully believe in supporting artists financially. Lord knows I've put enough of my money into music over the years. But I also think that the big record companies need to accept some degree of culpability in the decline of music sales and the rise in "piracy" over the last decade or so. Their intimidation policy of aggressive litigation toward individuals was about as short-sighted a move as they could possibly have made and only served to reinforce the idea of the evil, avaricious suits looking to protect sales at any cost.
Old 06-19-2012, 01:13 PM   #6
Refugee

From the sound of it, kids don't care how big the label is they're stealing from.
Old 06-19-2012, 01:19 PM   #7
Blue Crack Addict

Local Time: 03:48 PM