Music Piracy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Really well said.

Now that I have a degree of disposable income, I find I am contributing more to the music industry than I was before (I'm spending something like $800-900 on concerts through October), but I still have my limitations on purchasing music. For instance, I can't remember the last time I bought an album without hearing it first. Thanks to Rhapsody, Spotify, Grooveshark, NPR streams, etc. there's absolutely no reason to buy an album blind anymore, and amazon mp3 offers really decent deals so you can buy an album here or there and not feel like a total thief.

I fully believe in supporting artists financially. Lord knows I've put enough of my money into music over the years. But I also think that the big record companies need to accept some degree of culpability in the decline of music sales and the rise in "piracy" over the last decade or so. Their intimidation policy of aggressive litigation toward individuals was about as short-sighted a move as they could possibly have made and only served to reinforce the idea of the evil, avaricious suits looking to protect sales at any cost.

I read that yesterday and was going to post it but was too lazy. The person who sent me the link (an avid vinyl collector who doesn't steal music) thought the writer beat up on this 21 year old, but I thought he made some points that are pretty tough to argue with.

After this article, I may have to re-think my feelings towards Spotify.

The people who argue that they're entitled to free music because it's a free country and creativity has no overhead blah blah make me laugh. I stole (and still steal) a great deal of music, but I would never make the argument that I'm owed free shit.