Life After R.E.M.: Discussion Thread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I've never actually gone through R.E.M.'s discography completely so I've got some weird holes in my knowledge of them. I haven't heard Document, Green, Monster or Reveal. My favorite is probably either Fables of the Reconstruction or Lifes Rich Pageant. The first four or five songs on both albums are absolutely perfect. New Adventures in Hi-fi comes close though. I also think Automatic is overrated as hell. It's so boring. Give me Out of Time over it any day of the week. I think I like Murmur but I had the same experience with it as Vlad I think, nothing stayed with me.

As for songs, Country Feedback and E-Bow the Letter are my two favorites. It's no coïncidence they're a bit similar. I also really love Blue. Wish they'd made more songs like that. The live version of E-Bow with Thom Yorke doing the Patti Smith vocals is amazing.

Not just a weird hole, but a gaping one. :wink: What was cool about REM was that they always changed things up. Especially from Green to Out of Time. Automatic was still kind of riding the experimental wave that Out of Time was on. Then they returned to rocking it out with Monster. Reveal was riding the same wave as Up, but with more of a Summer feel to it.

When I first got into REM in the 80's, it was because my friend played their tapes constantly in his car. Really loud no less. No conversation allowed. Just blasting of tunes. He did this with U2, INXS and the Cure also. His "conversion" therapy worked. :wink:

Random observation: Everyone on the previous page has had the same avatar for years.