Crowded House and Split Enz

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cobl04

45:33
I'm just beginning to appreciate the wonderful music of these two bands, and was wondering if either have best-ofs or greatest hits, combined or seperately. I've downloaded Don't Dream It's Over and Six Months in a Leaky Boat is on its way as I type, are them any other recommendations?

Skip compilations. Get the good stuff.

Crowded House's Together Alone is one of the most excellent melodic rock albums I have ever heard. Neil Finn is a genius, and this album is far more richly atmospheric than any that went before it. Considering my love of The Unforgettable Fire, I doubt many who are familiar with Together Alone are shocked that someone with my tastes would enjoy it.

I would also highly recommend Crowded House's eponymous debut. Avoid Woodface, though. Wildly over-rated - the album's almost completely filler past Fame Is. In fact, Fame Is isn't exactly that good either, but I still enjoy it.

And as far as Split Enz goes, great albums are Frenzy, Time And Tide, True Colours, and Waiata. Now, if I'm honest, I'm familiar with Crowded House's Best Of and think it's a decent introduction, but I'm not familiar with any Enz compilations.

I can't wait to see Split Enz live in a week!

Don't discount the Crowded House compilation Recurring Dream. Try to find an edition with the bonus live disc, it's more than worth the effort to find it (Sister Madly is especially brilliant, where the band breaks down, but somehow succeed in making it a magical rendition).

And despite what Axver says (and he's right about the quality of Together Alone), Woodface is a masterpiece too. Excellent songs. :up:

I'm not familiar with Split Enz, but I heard their catalogue has just been rereleased in Australia. Hopefully these CDs also come our way.

:wave: