Country music that's actually listenable

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LemonMelon

More 5G Than Man
A tall order, I realize, but this thread is for that rare moment when you come across a track somewhere within the spectrum of country that's altogether inspired and avoids the usual hackneyed contemporary bullshit. I'm from western Maryland, which is essentially West Virginia runoff, so I have a lot of experience with it. I'm no purist, so feel free to post/discuss anything that would qualify.

A recent, highly wonderful discovery of mine is Flying Burrito Brothers. This track right here boasts probably the coolest pedal steel tone ever. It's practically squirming out of the speakers:

YouTube - Flying Burrito Brothers - Christine's Tune

Probably borderline, but Townes Van Zandt's voice is pure country. Gorgeous:

YouTube - Townes Van Zandt - "Fare thee well, Miss Carousel"

And, of course, some awesome outlaw country shit:

YouTube - Willie Nelson - Bloody Mary Morning

YouTube - Waylon Jennings - Cedartown, Georgia

YouTube - Kris Kristofferson Sunday morning coming down

YouTube - Johnny Cash - Cocaine Blues

I intend to check out Emmylou Harris and Lucinda Williams very soon. Those two have wonderful voices, and boast some seminal albums.

If you go to the Flying Burrito Brothers, you go to Gram Parsons, which leads to Emmylou Harris - you MUST check her out. Put her at the top of your list.

YouTube - Emmylou Harris - Boulder to Birmingham

Dolly Parton - no, seriously! She has a recent bluegrass album that's very good. Quite simply, she's awesome.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c1zJzr-kWsI

I'm also a fan of Mindy Smith, who does a really good cover of Dolly's song Jolene(which also features Dolly):

YouTube - Mindy Smith - Jolene.

Lyle Lovett - I love his voice.

YouTube - Lyle Lovett - Nobody Knows Me