Leaving Osborn (A True Story)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bonochick

Halloweenhead
Staff member
I grabbed a floppy to save some pictures on when I came across a document called "Osborn", which I had written after transferring from university to go to community college and live at home. I had forgotten that I had written it...the reason I had written it was so I wouldn't forget about my final time there. I wanted to share it with you all.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Leaving Osborn

Osborn Hall. It had become my home, my family, my life. It was all I had wanted all summer, ever since my dad and I moved from Menominee, the only place I had ever known, down to Saginaw about two weeks after I graduated from high school. It was the loneliest summer I had ever spent; Dad worked 12 to 16 hour days most of the time, and my only company were my pets and strangers in Internet chat rooms.
Although my parents were divorced, they still got along, and, when the time for me to leave for college came, Mom came down to Saginaw to help. The morning I left was one of the hardest moments of my life, but it was also one of the most welcome, as this was what I had dreamed about since I was five years old. While it was hard saying goodbye to my cat Whiskers (she?s been my best friend for over 10 years) and my other pets, I could not wait to get to school.
The car ride took about 5 hours. It was the longest and shortest 5 hours of my life, if that can make sense. I guess you can only understand it if you?ve experienced it.
When we got to Osborn, we found my room: 335 Osborn. Esther, my roommate, had already arrived, and most of her stuff was unloaded. It was hard to just find room to get my boxes in, let alone unpack them.