The Economic Downturn Support Thread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pearl

Rock n' Roll Doggie VIP PASS
I felt we could all use one.

I got the idea to start this because its been seven weeks since I graduated from grad school, and I am still unemployed. I send out 4 - 5, or more resumes almost everyday, and very rarely do I get a response. If I do, its the sorry, but we found someone else type.

I am freelancing a bit, or was. My supervisor told me this week that he needs to cut back, so I won't be hired too often.

I'm so desperate for a job, that I am willing to take some receptionist jobs just to pay the bills. Luckily, I live at home with my parents, so I don't have rent to pay. But I still need to pay for things, and my savings account is dwindling.

I'm sure this is the same story for some of you, or people that you know. These are really tough times, and who knows how long it will last. Any kind words or advice would be much appreciated - for me or anyone!

Only real advice I can give thats worked for me is to apply for jobs that arnt advertised. Ive applied to LOADS of jobs, most of which I was overqualified for anyway (retail type jobs), and my biology teacher told me about a healthcare assistant job I could do, as Im thinking of becoming a nurse. (It was mainly for the experience, to see if I really want to do nursing) So I went up and applied, and lo, I was accepted.

To think Ive never been able to get a job by myself without others help, yet the one time I did get a job it was in a hospital both confused and made me happy.

Only thing is, I dont know when I start, as Im waiting for a police check. I need to ring up about it actually.

In the meantime, Ive been trying to sell some of my junk to pay for stuff. Old video games etc. :shrug: Try having a car boot sale or putting some old stuff up on ebay or something.