Need advice...any mommies of toddlers on this board?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ralphie

The Fly
If anyone here has any experience with toddlers, I need some advice! I'm a speech therapist and I recently made the switch from working with school aged kids to early intervention (five and under). When I worked with my older kids motivating them was easy enough...we got out a fun game or they worked for some candy and that was that!

Toddlers, though, that is a whole different ballgame! I feel like no matter how fun the activity is they still getted locked into the whole 'let me show you how independent I am' thing, by which I mean everything is "No...no...NOOOOO!" This is difficult because in a speech therapy session you pretty much have to be telling them what to do the entire time, as they're there to work on certain goals. Any mommies/experienced sitters here who have any thoughts?

I have a spirited 3 year old. Very spirited.

When we need her to do something we make it her idea. Example.

I don't know if doing whatever would be good or fun, what do you think?

Or give them a choice of two activities to do (that works too)

Also you may want to ask the parents to prepare the child for meeting. We HAVE to do that, if she has an idea of what to expect, life is much easier for us.

Good Luck!

ava83 said:
I have a spirited 3 year old. Very spirited.

When we need her to do something we make it her idea. Example.

I don't know if doing whatever would be good or fun, what do you think?

Or give them a choice of two activities to do (that works too)

Also you may want to ask the parents to prepare the child for meeting. We HAVE to do that, if she has an idea of what to expect, life is much easier for us.

Good Luck!

All great ideas!
I have two children, youngest 6 now (wish I had a littler one; I miss it, as challenging as they can be!)...