MERGED--> I think I made a big mistake + Me and my inability to be assertive

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

meegannie

Blue Crack Addict
I think I made a big mistake.

Hmm...I don't really feel comfortable talking about this, but here's the most serious confession I've ever made.

Since I was three years old, I wanted to be a veterinarian. Then in high school, I decided that I hated chemistry so much that it wasn't worth it. :| So I decided to go with history, and I graduated from college with a BA in history and political science. I'm getting my MA in modern history in the fall, and while I love history, I don't have any desire to work in any history-related field. I've tried working in politics/government and have become incredibly disillusioned, I would be a HORRIBLE teacher because of my inability to communicate, and I'm too much of a perfectionist to be any kind of historical writer. More than anything, I want to be a vetrinarian, but I think I've backed myself into a corner now. I'm going to have over $28,000 in student loans after next year, and nothing to show for it other than two pieces of paper that are completely useless for what I REALLY want to do. The worst part is that I wasn't even BAD at chemistry in high school; I got an A. I just didn't love it as much as I loved biology.