Job hunting Sucks ........

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I've been on the academic job market since October and have only had one interview so far, and I wasn't even a finalist. This is out of over 60 applications that I've done so far. It's terrifying knowing I'm going to have a PhD in about six weeks and will be unemployed :crazy:

it took me over a year to find full time work when I graduated in 2003, and I'm not even using my degree right now. I might have to begin looking again as my company is acquiring another company and plans to eliminate some jobs :yikes: I hate job hunting!!!

I hear you! Job hunting is never easy for me and always takes forever! The biggest problem is looking for a job while already working at an existing job. After a hard day's work, you have no interest whatsoever in looking for another job. You just wanna kick back, relax and turn on the blue crack. Plus there's the hassles of taking a call from an interviewer at the workplace! It's basically a royal pain in the ass! I think that's why the best strategy to adopt is to just power thru it. If you keep procrastinating and dragging on, applying for only a few jobs here and there, you'll never get anywhere and you'll feel miserable for a long time till you find something concrete. Instead if you just totally cut down on your leisure time, esp. during weeknights (you can party on weekends) and keep applying for jobs and putting in a 100% effort, it HAS to pay off soon. If you're doing it right, it has to work! Good luck! :up:

^ Thanks... The first few weeks I was getting tons of calls, now its dwindled down and nada.