I'm Really Starting to Feel Like a Loser!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TripThruUreWires

I serve MacPhisto
My self-confidence has really been trampled on, beaten, chewed and spit out over these past couple weeks!

In in the midst of looking for a job these past couple weeks, not only have potential employers rejected me, they didn't even have the courtesy to return my calls to let me know where i stand.

Ok, so you might be thinking, "Well, a lot of companies pull this manuever". However, I'm referring to small scale and private companies requiring low-to-moderate-skilled work (i.e. a retail stores and childcare centers).

My self-confidence is really starting to wane i tell you! Mainly for several reasons: I have extensive experience as an assistant retail manager and I hold an australian degree in early childhood teaching and leadership (with some hands-on experience). My interviewing skills are not great, but at the same time they are far from atrocious. I am an able-bodied and generally warm, sociable individual. I've never been fired from a job or have left without notice. I'm not a psychopath. I don't have a criminal record. I know for a fact there are not a sleu of highly qualified people applying for these positions. I'm neither extremely young or extremely old. etc.

What else do they desire for these sort of positions? Is there something that i am so utterly deficient in that I am not even fit to hold these sort of jobs? Am i overreacting/Am i neurotic?

I suppose what makes me feel even worse is that prior to coming to singapore i had been hired for every single job position i'd ever applied for. So why am i beginning to feel like an incompetent loser here in singapore?