I Feel Stupid & Confused

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LarryMullen's POPAngel

Blue Crack Distributor
I'll be up with the sun, I'm not coming down...
Why? Let me explain.

I began going to college part-time a year after I graduated high school, only to stop after a semester and a half. I was doing poorly so, idiot that I was, just decided to quit.

Lately I have really regretted that decision, and find myself wanting to go back in the worst way, but I can't muster up the balls to go and register. All I want is to take one English class this summer to see how it goes, if I can "hack" school again after such a long time away (4 years). If it goes well I'll most likely go back in the fall with some course of study. Ok, there's the stupid part.

Now the problem (if you can even call it that)is this. I have always wanted to be a writer, ever since I was small. I remember writing silly little stories, songs, even making my own magazine one year... For reasons I can't remember, I gave it up for a few years and in the last three have begun again. I think I'm fairly decent, and would someday love to make some sort of living, even if it's freelancing part-time, doing it. I just feel so confused because while I've been told I don't exactly need a college degree to make a living writing, I have been looking at schools online that are geared towards that type of thing, and now I feel as if I ought to look into going to one of those places (closest would be Chicago).

I'm feeling fairly pessimistic over the cost and effects of my going (if I even can). I honestly feel as if there is no way in hell I could, whether it be money, means of how I would get by, etc. I mean, it's not like I have an absolute "need" to go to a school like that, but it seems fairly practical for someone like myself with dreams of writing for a living.