I Feel like a Little Kid!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

~*Buffalo*~

War Child
This is such a problem for me ... I'm turning 20 in a few weeks, but I just don't feel like an adult. That is, I can't talk to adults - I'm far too shy anyway - and I always get the impression than older people think I'm still a kid.

For example, I work as a tutor with primary-school children. I have no problem talking with them, and I get on great with them. But whenever I need to talk with their parents, I clam up. I just don't know what to say, and I don't want to look like an idiot by saying the wrong thing about their kids. Of course I probably seem just as idiotic not saying anything, but ...

And, also, when I'm at university, I have tutorials and we're supposed to contribute to discussions and stuff. And I don't ... even though I always have things to say, I get scared to talk because most of the people in my classes are mature-age students and are all buddy-buddy with the tutors and lecturers. Having come from school 2 years ago where that would never happen with teachers, I just can't call adults by their first names! And I don't want to say the wrong thing ... again ... *sigh* I do well at uni because I enjoy writing, and I don't have that kind of problem. But speaking just frightens me!