i dont understand

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zooropamanda

Rock n' Roll Doggie VIP PASS
i am a teacher
today i arrived at school to find out a little 11 yr old boy had attempted suicide in the boys toilets.
i have taught him many times. i spoke to him in the playground the day before.
i spent the first 2 hours feeling sick, then i went into automatic pilot for the rest of the day.
when i got in my car this afternoon i burst into tears and have been crying ever since.
i have that revolting sickness from fear and shock feeling and i havent stopped shaking since early this morning.
what does that to an innocent little baby?
what causes such pain in a child's life like that?
i thought i understood children well.
i dont understand this.
i just dont understand.

Oh my goodness......
I think I'd react the same way too.
I don't think anyone can ever understand anything like that.
If there was an explanation, I wouldn't believe it.
Makes me want to hug a child.....

You know we all are here for one another...you came to the right place.....

Teen years is a very depressing time for most, I think.
frown.gif
It's also a time when suicide is, unfortunately, glorified... because it's seen as a means of getting mad attention.

Take care.

foray

*hugs* manda

------------------
Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.
-Albert Einstein

all i can think of is to say why?

A child took a gun and shot/killed himself on a school balcony at lunchtime at a nearby school here last year, we've been discussing it at uni all week as we've dealt with reporting this stuff...

fors, he wasnt in high school. he wasnt even a teen yet. this is a little boy im talking about here. ten or eleven years old.
a kid the same age as my baby sister who doesnt even herself know what suicide means.
just a tiny little baby.