Connecting through Denver Airport - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2011, 04:01 PM   #1
Blue Crack Addict
 
RavenBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The majestic Canuckian wilderness
Posts: 17,103
Local Time: 07:48 PM
Connecting through Denver Airport

This isn't for months but I will be connecting through Denver later on this year. I am coming in from Canada.. I take it I will have to go through customs, will I have to go through security again as well? I also think I'll have to change terminals which is something I haven't had to do before. I will only have a carryon, so that will save me some time. I'll have a three hour layover there, just wondering if that will be enough. I'm sure it will, but this is me just being neurotic lol.
__________________

__________________
RavenBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 04:17 PM   #2
New Yorker
 
vjacqb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: A city that experienced the February 2010 Blizzard
Posts: 2,623
Local Time: 06:48 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenBlue
This isn't for months but I will be connecting through Denver later on this year. I am coming in from Canada.. I take it I will have to go through customs, will I have to go through security again as well? I also think I'll have to change terminals which is something I haven't had to do before. I will only have a carryon, so that will save me some time. I'll have a three hour layover there, just wondering if that will be enough. I'm sure it will, but this is me just being neurotic lol.
If you have to go through immigration and customs, chances are you might have to go through security again.
Actually, Denver Airport website confirmed this. Go to the Traveler information, International Passenger section. http://flydenver.com/english
Since you don't have checked baggage, I'm sure the process will be quick. The website also tells you there's a train you can take to transfer between the terminals, after the security screening.

Hope this helps! And safe travels!
__________________

__________________
vjacqb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 04:18 PM   #3
Blue Crack Supplier
 
coolian2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hamilton (No longer STD capital of NZ)
Posts: 42,920
Local Time: 11:48 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenBlue View Post
I'll have a three hour layover there, just wondering if that will be enough.
it will.
__________________
coolian2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 04:51 PM   #4
Blue Crack Addict
 
RavenBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The majestic Canuckian wilderness
Posts: 17,103
Local Time: 07:48 PM
Is Denver an easy to navigate airport?
__________________
RavenBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 05:06 PM   #5
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
ntalwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,900
Local Time: 05:48 PM
Major airports in Canada have US customs on site, so you don't have to go through it again after landing in the US.
__________________
ntalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 06:18 PM   #6
Blue Crack Addict
 
RavenBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The majestic Canuckian wilderness
Posts: 17,103
Local Time: 07:48 PM
Ah I was wondering about that ntalwar.. I was reading about pre clearance and wondered if that applied. If that's the case that would save me a ton of time (and peace of mind)
__________________
RavenBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 08:43 PM   #7
Blue Crack Overdose
Get me off the internetz!
 
Carek1230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: wishing I was somewhere else....
Posts: 114,587
Local Time: 02:48 PM
There's always lots to do in airports while waiting for flights. I love to people watch! Hope you have a great trip!
__________________
Carek1230 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 08:54 PM   #8
Blue Crack Addict
 
kafrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Upside-down
Posts: 19,644
Local Time: 03:48 PM
I've connected through Denver airport from Canada and never had to go through customs or security again. Anytime I've conneted in the U.S., I've gone through both processes on Canadian soil, before taking off.
__________________
kafrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 09:02 PM   #9
ONE
love, blood, life
 
zoney!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: six metro locations
Posts: 11,293
Local Time: 04:48 PM
Big Grin

what city in Canada are you coming in from?

Even if you do not pre-clear, most airlines minimum connect times for international to domestic flights is 60-75 minutes, so three hours is MORE than enough time. And Denver is pretty easy to connect through with its tram. With three hours, you are going to be bored off of your gourd.
__________________
zoney! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 12:44 PM   #10
Blue Meth Addict
 
u2popmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 36,961
Local Time: 04:48 PM
As Zoney said, Denver is quite simple to figure out where you need to be. The tram is very straight forward, and everything is marked fairly well. If you have that much time, may as well eat in the airport. FYI, I don't think I've ever had a flight not be delayed out of Denver before in my life, so good luck.
__________________
u2popmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 02:06 PM   #11
Blue Crack Addict
 
RavenBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The majestic Canuckian wilderness
Posts: 17,103
Local Time: 07:48 PM
Will be coming in from Toronto
__________________
RavenBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 02:13 PM   #12
Blue Crack Addict
 
anitram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NY
Posts: 16,296
Local Time: 05:48 PM
You will definitely go through US customs in Toronto.
__________________
anitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 08:12 PM   #13
Blue Crack Addict
 
RavenBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The majestic Canuckian wilderness
Posts: 17,103
Local Time: 07:48 PM
Cool, that's what I figured. Thanks all!
__________________
RavenBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 02:27 PM   #14
has a
 
kramwest1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Not a toliet wall
Posts: 6,939
Local Time: 04:48 PM
There's free WiFi in DIA, although you get what you pay for.
(Don't bother trying Facebook or anything other than basic e-mails and info.)

I connect through Denver all of the time and LOVE grabbing a Cheese, Fruit and Nut box from Pour La France at the Core of the B Gates. It's not the most exotic cheese, but it's not Velveeta either. The dried apricots and walnuts are a treat, too.
Itza Wrap/Itza Bowl is pretty good, too. It's Asian (kinda) stuff, but it's tasty and mostly healthy.

There are much worse airports in which to spend extra time. I was just there twice over the holidays.

__________________

__________________
Bread & Circuses
kramwest1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com