Obesity Tax?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bigjohn2441

Refugee
Commentary: Why we need an obesity tax - CNN.com

you've got to be kidding me?

lemme get this straight, the government thinks people are too fat, so therefore they will do the obvious and make a new tax to take more money from the people, under the justification of protecting the children?

what a crock of horseshit! yeah sodas and juice drinks are the ONLY things that make people fat.

"The $404 million this tax would raise next year will go toward funding public health programs, including obesity prevention programs, across New York state."

404 million for obesity prevention programs?! what, are they gonna pay for lipo for all the obese people?

i guess the the government knows whats best for you.

I am not a proponent of "government knows best" (at least not universally) but clearly individuals don't know best either since they're doing nothing but getting fatter and getting their children fatter by feeding them disgusting things and sticking them indoors 24/7.

Most people (yes, more than half) need to hit the gym or find some form of exercise immediately. And refine their eating habits.

I don't know how you can enforce that, though. Personally, I eat properly and work out a lot because I can't stand the idea of not looking toned and athletic. But unless you want to do that for yourself, nothing anybody forces you will really work.

yes, it is sad how out of shape and "obese" this country has become. however, that doesnt give the government the right to impose taxes on sugar drinks to force people to cut back (even though the real reason is to increase revenue). im pretty sure nowhere in the constitution it says "the government shall have the right to tax pepsi because the children might get fat."