If you have kids, will you give them the H1N1 Vaccine?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

H1N1 vaccine

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
I still don't understand the reason for not getting the vaccine....? Just because it's a new vaccine?

I can wash my hands 10 times a day but if some infected person sneezes on me, I'm still screwed.

I work in IT and our student workers wipe everything with Clorox wipes multiple times a day, and one of our employees already has it. :shrug:

If they were in a risk group, like being asthmatic or in bad health, I would let them have it. Otherwise, no. It's not worth it anyway, a flu shot is useless when you're healthy. It changes so quickly that it'll be resisting the vaccine soon enough, and bird flu/swine flu/whatever flu they come up with now is more mild than regular flu.

and bird flu/swine flu/whatever flu they come up with now is more mild than regular flu.

I keep reading this but from people who have had it this hasn't really been the case. Some healthy people are getting flattened for over a week. Otherwise healthy kids and young adults dying. Doesn't sound really "mild" to me.

I don't have kids, but I know quite a few people who are very leery of the vaccine because they can't find enough definitive information about the ingredients and side effects.

Like me for example. I don't know what the long term effects are if you take the vaccine. The problem is that flu viruses tend to rapidly mutate into other flu viruses. I know people who get a regular flu vaccine every year, but still get struck by another flu virus.