45% Of Students Don't Learn Much In College

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
You're all talking about me.

I'm a sophomore right now. I'm a communications major. I'm a business minor. I have about a 3.7 GPA. By the time I graduate, the total cost will be a little over $100,000. I'll still owe most of it.

I have no idea if I'll be able to get a job. Let's hope so.

I'm a sophomore right now. I'm a communications major. I'm a business minor. I have about a 3.7 GPA. By the time I graduate, the total cost will be a little over $100,000. I'll still owe most of it.

Could be worse, you could have been spending around 100k on a Journalism degree in this transitional, turbulent media climate :lol:

As there is a need for shorter degrees that deliver real skills at a reasonable cost
We already have these - vocational schools, and some very decent ones in Canada and the U.S, too. Unfortunately I think society looks down on vocational education or apprenticeships.

I think a reckoning in university eudcation is coming eventually in the West, and maybe our values will shift from paying for externalities like big, green campuses and musty, century-old buildings with tuition money.

We have no choice as a society but to change, eventually, because resourcefulness and innovation from the developing world will force us to find a better way to educate our kids without breaking the bank. We fight about all this stupid shit like Creationism and re-writing history textbooks, which distracts us from the fact that with the widening income gap between rich and poor, intellectual capital is becoming more and more out of reach for many.