2010 - U S Midterm Elections - opinions - results - what now?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Oh, lord, soooooo much to comment on here, where do I begin...*Cracks knuckles*. Getting venting/angry commentary out of the way first, then ending on a positive/general note.

First off, the voting out of the Iowa judges really makes me want to cry :sad:. However, isn't there still a whole lot of crap the anti-gay crowd would have to go through in order to ultimately defeat the legalization of gay marriage? I'm no expert on how this stuff works, but anyone who has a bit more knowledge about it, enlighten me, I'd be interested to know just what else they have to do. Regardless, I'm certainly going to keep an eye on things related to that issue and fight like hell with all the means I have to stop the anti-gay crowd.

That does lead me to something else I found interesting, though. I was watching Rachel Maddow's show tonight and she was talking about this issue, as well as other ballot measures and such, that were defeated/approved, and I noticed a recurring theme kept coming up about "out of state interests" having a say in that stuff. Out of state interests were what helped push the "anti-activist judges" thing here, and of course, it's been active other times, too. And I'm kinda confused about that, because if we are leaving taking care of the issues up to each individual state, like so many insist it should be, then why exactly are people from other states trying to dictate who the judges for my state are and what they can vote on in regards to that issue (or any issue)? It's like when the Mormon church in Utah put all that money toward Prop 8 in California-you're in Utah, what the hell do you care what happens in California? Just further proof that the "let the states decide" mantra of conservatives is complete BS and confusing as hell.