where do i go from here?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

U2girl91289

War Child
I have been tecahing myself guitar for about 4 months now. I don't have much time to practice, basically I play for an hour a day but only on weekends and I maybe touch the guitar once druing the week, so my time is somewhat limited. I have been using the Hal-Leonard Play Guitar Today books but I didn't use them for about 2 months. I can do chords and am working on using more barre chords and learning harder chords. I also have been doing a lot of tabs for about 2 months and am currently working on Stairway to Heaven, among other things. I have an Eric Clapton songbook that breaks down his playing method, but most of the stuff in it is a little too advanced for me. I can do scales, and figured out all the major scales without help or a book. My question is, what do I do now? I won't be able to start lessons until July because I will be at camp and don't have time for the rest of this school year. Any suggestions of songs and websites or teaching websites would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

well....obviuosly I started with U2 songs I think you should try them because there are ranges and loads of songs you can try of all difficulty levels

I have alot of time on my hands so I practise every day at the least an hour

Instead of playing the chords start moving on to lead guitar parts there's loads of guitar tabs and sites out there and guitar 'tutorials online' just have a browse and you'll find something you'll find fit to learn

Are there any sites that have really free good guitar tutorials sonline? I know of some sites, but I don't know which is better. For example, I have tried mxtabs and donnybravos. Any other suggestions or certain songs(not necessarily U2) i should try? Thanks!