Mysterious Ways Tone - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Your Blue Room > Even Better Than The Real Thing ??
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2007, 02:11 PM   #1
Babyface
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 20
Local Time: 10:40 PM
Mysterious Ways Tone

I'm trying to get a good tone for Mysterious Ways using a Pod Pro XT. I know The Edge used a preset on the Korg A3. Exactly what does that program contain? To me is sound like an auto wah with some phase shifter, distortion and some delay. Does anybody know spacifically what are the setting on each effect? I have down loaded some user made programs off the net but have not been satisfied.
__________________

monroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 05:36 PM   #2
War Child
 
TheEdge U2JT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: In a house filled with boys, guitars, pets and a lot of love!
Posts: 947
Local Time: 07:40 PM
It is a type of auto wah with flange. There is also some overdrive, delay and reveb.

There in no way to get the tone for MW with the POD. It does not have the effect to pull it off. It's pretty much just the A3.
__________________

TheEdge U2JT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 07:05 AM   #3
The Fly
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 75
Local Time: 09:40 PM
The unique-ness of the A3 "Funk wah" patch (SPC-01 card) is the reason that most U2 cover Edges have at least an A3 in their rig.

Most good Faux-edges I know have told me that you can pretty much capture the majority of Edge's tone with a Pod Pro and an A3.
Loar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 09:56 AM   #4
The Fly
 
DanZigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 62
Local Time: 10:40 PM
I just uploaded my Mysterious Ways tone to the Custom Tone website. You can find it by searching for by last name - "Zigman".

A key part of the Mysterious Ways tone is using an Electric 12-String. (I use my Variax for this).

To mimic the filter effect using only my POD XT Live, I use an external wah pedal (or the built-in XT Live pedal) and play it together with the autowah. You have to play the wah pedal "backwards" i.e. you press down when you hit the chord and bring it back slowly to mimic the filter effect.

I think this technique works quite well. Not 100% perfect, but I'd say around 95% - good enough that it's not worth buying a Korg A3 just for this patch
DanZigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 10:23 AM   #5
War Child
 
TheEdge U2JT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: In a house filled with boys, guitars, pets and a lot of love!
Posts: 947
Local Time: 07:40 PM
I agree. The 12-string makes a huge difference. When I got my Ric and tried it for the 1st time with the A3, it was a night and day difference.

There is a new piece of gear that might be able to reproduce the A3 sounds. I'm working on it. If I can get something close, I post some clips.
TheEdge U2JT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 04:18 PM   #6
Babyface
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 20
Local Time: 10:40 PM
Thanks guys. I hate to have to buy a piece of equiptment just for one song, although it would not be the first time. DanZigs, thanks for the download, however you must have a modeling pack that I do not have. I get that error message when I go to your patch. It could be that your using a XT Live and I use the XT Pro. It sounds like something is missing. I see you have posted about 150 different patches. I tried some of your other patches and had the same problem with some, others worked great.
monroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 06:28 PM   #7
The Fly
 
DanZigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 62
Local Time: 10:40 PM
I haven't posted 150 different patches.. for some reason I posted about 8-10 and the rest are all duplicates.. Maybe people tweak them and reupload?

This patch uses one the new wah models for the XT Live, so it's possible that that's the problem.. Have you updated to version 3.0 of the firmware? If not use the Line 6 Monkey and give that a try.

Remember, that the patch is setup to be played with a wah pedal and a 12-string, so the original tone will sound like it doesn't have enough high frequency.

Also, I realized after playing around with it today that the reverb could definitely be improved on.
DanZigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 06:33 PM   #8
Refugee
 
Muad'zin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,381
Local Time: 03:40 AM
Easy, unlike the XT Pro, the XT Live comes with the Effects pack pre-installed. One of the three amp/FX/OD packs Line6 tries to wring its customers out of extra money off, rather then install them from the go as they should.
Muad'zin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 06:49 PM   #9
Babyface
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 20
Local Time: 10:40 PM
Sounds like either way I'm going to have to spend some money, unless those modeling packs are on line somewhere What other signature tones can you get off of the A3?
monroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 07:44 PM   #10
The Fly
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 75
Local Time: 09:40 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by monroe
Sounds like either way I'm going to have to spend some money, unless those modeling packs are on line somewhere What other signature tones can you get off of the A3?
I wouldn't worry about signature tones for the A3. Buy it, if you're going to, because it really is a pretty decent sounding processor and doesn't cost all that much money.

I love mine, and it's my main processor, aside from a delay unit I use mostly for echo. I rarely play U2 stuff anymore, but I still use the A3 all the time.
Loar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 10:04 PM   #11
The Fly
 
DanZigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 62
Local Time: 10:40 PM
Muad'zin you're right. The Autowah and flanger that I used are part of the effects patch. Oh well...

Monroe, I'm pretty sure that Line6 lets you test out their patches risk free for 30 days after which you can get your money back if you don't want to keep them. You can try it out and see if the extra effects are worth the money. That was how the suckered me into buying the add-ons. I really think that the Metal add-on is excellent, by the way (and I'm not a metal fan at all).
DanZigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 05:48 PM   #12
Babyface
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Local Time: 03:40 AM
MW Tone

I use POD XT for all my tones in my U2 Tribute band.. I have tried to attach my Mysterious ways patch to this post. If you have a POD, you are welcome to it.

This is programmed for using live, I run the output through the Poweramp setting (what are you connected to) into a Kendrick 2010 Tube Amp. It includes a VOX AC30 amp modeller in the patch so it also sounds Okay DI'd. Most important part for me is the actual effect and delay sounds.

Live I use the foot controller to turn the Mod effect on and off while playing. I leave the Stomp off unless I am doing a solo, and I use the Comp (compressor) as a signal boost for solos etc.

Email me if you like it or want any more. If you don't have a POD this post might not make much sense.

I have been trying to decide if I should write a "how I copy the edge using a pod" section of our website, but don't know how many (if any) people would be interested.
Attached Files
File Type: zip u2 myst.zip (738 Bytes, 37 views)
buffalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 08:10 PM   #13
War Child
 
TheEdge U2JT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: In a house filled with boys, guitars, pets and a lot of love!
Posts: 947
Local Time: 07:40 PM
Listening to the clip of MW on your site, I don't hear any Wah or flange on the sound you are using, all I hear is overdrive.
TheEdge U2JT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 10:49 PM   #14
The Fly
 
DanZigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 62
Local Time: 10:40 PM
I just figured out the putting the MOD in the post-configuration really improved the tone. If you tried the one that I made before and thought that it was missing something, try downloading version 2 from customtone.
DanZigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 01:41 AM   #15
The Fly
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Croatia
Posts: 35
Local Time: 04:40 AM
For buffalo:
I would be very interested in a section ""how I copy the edge using a pod". Also,it would be noce if you can share some of your patches .
__________________

theAtomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com
×