memory man deluxe

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dedarkz

Babyface
hey, this is my first time posting here and i was wondering if i could get some help from you guys

long story short, i randomly started listening to u2, and became a bit obsessed, started doin some research on how to get the edges sound, and i thought i had it all figured out. so i wanted to get a similar sound, without spendin a huge amount of cash, so i went out and bought a EH memory man deluxe.
but heres the thing, i cant really get it to give a good delay. the delay is short and just doesnt last long, and the song i really want to replicate as best i can, is where the streets have no name. so i wanted to know if anyone had any experience with the memory man deluxe and could tell me aprox where the knobs on the pedal should be, i read the pedals instructions but they didnt make a whole lot of sense to me and i toyed around with it for quite awhile and couldnt come up with anything decent..so yeah any help is appreciated!

Unfortunately it's a tough question to answer, as each Memory Man seems to have its own approximate delay time (ranging somewhere between 380 - 460 ms). Another important question would be: Do you have an old DMM or the newer XO version (which just don't have the same sound as the older bigger units).

Anywho, to give you an approximate suggestion for (let's say) Streets: 365ms, 3-4 strong repeats.

Chorus: Completely off or really just a very small hint (personally prefer a little vibrato)
Delay: Just about the 12 o' clock position. Again, depends on your DMM. With mine, it's a bit to the left. Listen to some Streets version (for instance Boston DVD) where Edge mute-strums at the beginning of the song, there you can really hear the delay well.