Larry double bass drums?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nbelcik

Refugee
On my iTunes shuffle, Boomerang II just came on and it sounds like Larry is using a double bass pedal. I'm a drummer and I can definitely hear it. Does anyone have confirmation of Larry ever using a double bass pedal? I've never heard him use one except in this song.

On my iTunes shuffle, Boomerang II just came on and it sounds like Larry is using a double bass pedal. I'm a drummer and I can definitely hear it. Does anyone have confirmation of Larry ever using a double bass pedal? I've never heard him use one except in this song.

Larry has never used a double pedal or double bass drums. There is no double bass on that track.

Eno/Lanois studio trickery/EQ-ing is more likely. Delay on drums would be my first guess.

That's what I thought, Larry's never used double bass drums so to hear them on a song sounds weird. It probably is studio trickery. I played today and I used a double bass pedal though.

man, I consider myself the best thing since Larry to play those songs and dedicated a lot of time to figure out how to play so many. A lot with my own flavor, but man did you pick an obscure track here.

I would have to agree that I've never seen larry use a double pedal, and I think I've only seen him behind a double bass kit for a Harley commercial :)

U2 Larry Mullen Jr PSA - motorcycle safety - YouTube

okay it's not a harley commercial.