How do I get the Edge's "U2" sound? on guitar?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

capetown172

The Fly
Hello everyone,

I apologize for the simple question...but I started playing guitar, and I am wondering how to duplicate Edge's classic U2 guitar sound. I refer to songs like "All I Want Is You" and "Beautiful Day."

Can anyone help?

Well, for one thing, you're going to need something that will give you the echo delay, that's what you're hearing on those songs, Pride, WTSHNN, etc.

Echoes used to be produced all by analog, but there are digital echo things now...pedals, amps, etc. I'm not the best person to ask, but that's just a general idea there.

If you really want to sound like Edge, you will need his equipment lol. The Korg SDD-3000 or whatever it is... it is a rackmount unit. If you look behind Edge during concerts and see all those crazy gizmo's.... that's what is making his sound. I'm not a techno wiz, but that's as far as I know. That Korg delay unit costs a couple grand. You'll be fine with a simple delay pedal though. It won't sound quite the same, but you can work it out.

Thanks for all the insightful feedback. I don't think I ever fully appreciated the incredible effort The Edge makes to contruct the right guitar sound for each song and create those special U2 riffs.

I think I'll start with the dealy pedal for now.

I saw one of those Korg units on eBay for $700. There were a couple Korg rackmount delay units on there. I'm thinking to really get his sound downpact, you will need a pedal that will not only do just delay, but allow you to set the repeat times and such.