How can I record?? Looking for advice. - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Your Blue Room > Even Better Than The Real Thing ??
Click Here to Login

Old 02-02-2001, 04:44 PM   #1
War Child

Local Time: 03:20 AM
How can I record?? Looking for advice.

I'm no serious musician, but I play some guitar and piano. I've never put much money into my guitar equipment, but I would love to be able to record some multi-track stuff. My brother has an old 4-track he bought 10 years ago that he'd be glad to sell to me, but I feel like technology must be out there for me to just do it on my PC. Here's what I'm after: what's the cheapest way I can record multiple vocal/guitar tracks on my PC? I'm not too concerned about audio quality, I just want to be able to, for example, record a rhythm guitar part, go back and play lead over it, and then record some vocals, then go back and record a harmony part over that? Would it take tons of expensive hardware and software? I'm really quite clueless, but I must be able to put my PC to use musically somehow. I'd really appreciate any ideas/thoughts/advice anyone might have. Thanks.

Spiral_Staircase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2001, 01:25 PM   #2
War Child

Come on! Doesn't anybody have some advice?

Old 02-07-2001, 08:38 PM   #3
Refugee

Local Time: 04:20 AM
Good start is:

1 high quality mic - i.e. akg c1000

and some good software like: http://www.cakewalk.com

and perhaps a small mixer, like a 12 channel mackie all going into the input jack on your sound card.

Mark http://www.mp3.com/madelyniris
MadelynIris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2001, 04:30 PM   #4
War Child

Mark,
Thanks a lot. Cakewalk Music Creator looks like just what I'm looking for and is in the price range I was hoping for. And the Desktop Music Handbook on that site should give me a bit o' education. Thanks again for your help - it's much appreciated.