How can I record?? Looking for advice. - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Your Blue Room > Even Better Than The Real Thing ??
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2001, 04:44 PM   #1
War Child
 
Spiral_Staircase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 684
Local Time: 03:20 AM
How can I record?? Looking for advice.

I'm no serious musician, but I play some guitar and piano. I've never put much money into my guitar equipment, but I would love to be able to record some multi-track stuff. My brother has an old 4-track he bought 10 years ago that he'd be glad to sell to me, but I feel like technology must be out there for me to just do it on my PC. Here's what I'm after: what's the cheapest way I can record multiple vocal/guitar tracks on my PC? I'm not too concerned about audio quality, I just want to be able to, for example, record a rhythm guitar part, go back and play lead over it, and then record some vocals, then go back and record a harmony part over that? Would it take tons of expensive hardware and software? I'm really quite clueless, but I must be able to put my PC to use musically somehow. I'd really appreciate any ideas/thoughts/advice anyone might have. Thanks.
__________________

Spiral_Staircase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2001, 01:25 PM   #2
War Child
 
Spiral_Staircase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 684
Local Time: 03:20 AM
Come on! Doesn't anybody have some advice?
__________________

Spiral_Staircase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2001, 08:38 PM   #3
Refugee
 
MadelynIris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Craggy Island
Posts: 1,504
Local Time: 04:20 AM
Good start is:

1 high quality mic - i.e. akg c1000

and some good software like: http://www.cakewalk.com

and perhaps a small mixer, like a 12 channel mackie all going into the input jack on your sound card.

Mark http://www.mp3.com/madelyniris
MadelynIris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2001, 04:30 PM   #4
War Child
 
Spiral_Staircase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 684
Local Time: 03:20 AM
Mark,
Thanks a lot. Cakewalk Music Creator looks like just what I'm looking for and is in the price range I was hoping for. And the Desktop Music Handbook on that site should give me a bit o' education. Thanks again for your help - it's much appreciated.

If anybody else has some suggestions, please pass them along. I'm still shopping around and always trying to learn. Thanks.

-Tim
Spiral_Staircase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2001, 11:43 PM   #5
Babyface
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Miami
Posts: 4
Local Time: 09:20 AM
Cakewalk is a good program I have Cakewalk Pro Audio 9. If you are interested let me know.
Mr_Fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2001, 05:26 PM   #6
War Child
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Half a mile from what she said...
Posts: 897
Local Time: 09:20 AM
Hey guys,

I posted this in lemonade stand but spiral told me about this post.

What hardware do I need to record onto my mac? I've got a mic, but what do I need to hook that, my guitar to my computer. I've got the midi aspect under control. It's the rest that has me confused.

And what is the advantage to having a hard mixer? Why would you want to control the levels twice?

I don't know why I don't know the answers to these questions. I took an electronic music class, but everything seems to have changed in the past couple of years.

------------------
"Home is where the heart is, but your heart had to roam...."
popkidu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2001, 07:29 AM   #7
Babyface
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 4
Local Time: 09:20 AM
Really all you need is an analog 4-track - if the beatles recoder whole albums on one, then so can anyone else. And there is something really cool about having something that looks like a mini-recording studio sitting in your bedroom. With the , a good keyboard (with decent drums and strings on it) and a guitar you can do anything. Yes it might not be as good a sound quality, or very technologically advenced, but who are you trying to be.....U2 or someone mad like that..
slippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2001, 05:14 AM   #8
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
hiphop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: in the jungle
Posts: 7,410
Local Time: 11:20 AM
@spiral_staircase:
cakewalk/ mic/ small mixer may be fine, but i would keep the 4track anyway because computers tend to breakdown from time to time, and without a good backup medium i would not trust it. anyway, if you donīt want to spend loads of money on a fine a/d converter, the sound quality is kind of medium. so you could also use one of these 8trackallinone harddisk recorders, which you should be able to get used and relatively cheap. i would use a good mic to, but there should be cheaper alternatives to the akg c1000. be sure to get a condensator mic anyway, and try to get different characteristics (like the 8 is very nice to record two singers standing faced to each other at the same time).
@popkidu2:
the quest of the hardware on mac is a neverending theme. i donīt know what midi program you have, but most up to date programs like emagic logic audio or steinberg cubase offer software recording possibilities. then you need a rec. card, but i would suggest spending a little more and going for audio interface hardware. with the loads of interfaces on the market, it also depends on what mac you have (powerpc soso, i mac bad, G4 good for musical purposes) and if you got enough ram etc. possibilities range from event darla or layla or emagic audiowerk 8 (all sth. around 500 USD) to a full fledged protools with external hardware control. and this is just the start, you can get a/d converters that cost 20,000 USD per piece. be careful, let all the system fit together, means: if you want to use digital ins/outs sometime, include this into your decision and so on.
to your second question: itīs true, there is no sense in controlling the levels twice. but i need a hardware mixer, because without i would be totally unflexible. everytime i want to make the guitar louder or to filter it, i want to do it fast and spontaneous. this is why i donīt like to work with digital mixers. i donīt want to touch the mouse or step through 5 menus on a screen only to change simple things. in a mix situation i want to have control, and to be able to change something fast. for this i need an analogue hardware mixer. there is a point in programming everything before, but you lose some good mix ideas too. so its better to program a part (like mididata about cutoff or sth.), and to leave a part to the hands (yeah fading out in realtime *g*)
have fun
whenhiphop

hiphop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2001, 02:10 AM   #9
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
hiphop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: in the jungle
Posts: 7,410
Local Time: 11:20 AM
test functions now my reply? or waz on in this forum?
__________________

hiphop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright ÂĐ Interference.com
×