help on guitar....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SailorJi_2

The Fly
hulo. I'm an aspiring musician who is learning how to play the guitar. It's been several weeks now and i'm just wondering if i'm taking the right path. I'm teaching myself so if any of you would like to give me pointers, that would be great. I'm learning chords right now, slowly trying to get my fingers used to the strings and the fret board. hmmm....what else should i be doing??

------------------
"The world is often a wicked place, when you look around, but it's also full of beauty...and beauty is the consolation prize really...and we just have to find more of it and we have to look for it in unexpected places...its not just in those fashion spreads,
that's not real beauty...There is beauty to be found in everyday things."
?Bono
http://home.pacbell.net/sylviaji/

I don't actually play guitar but I know plenty who do,so here's some general musical tips.

1)Get a good book with the basics clearly explained. Make sure it has lessons that you can work through and it helps if it has a CD/CD-Rom with examples.

2)Work through it slowly and surely, make sure you understand each concept before you move on to others. It's important to master the basics since everything else builds on it.

3)Don't become dependant on tabs.

4)Keep practicing, natural ability helps but everyone makes their own decision of how good they want to be. I hope you want to be great.

Good luck.

[This message has been edited by Johnny Swallow (edited 02-06-2002).]

Johnny gave you some good advice. There's not much more I could add...except that I don't practice much!
wink.gif
Hoping to catch up on that over the summer, and hopefully get a new acoustic/electric.