Classical Composers?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

J-Tree

War Child
Just out of curiosity, who's your favorite classical composer? and/or what's your favorite classical piece?

I'm sure most of us have a wide variety of stuff we listen to.
smile.gif

------------------
"Only the dead shall see the end of war." ~ Plato

SlipStream Soul

I don't think I can answer that...just one???
Prokofiev, Beethoven, Mozart, Mendelssohn, Wagner,Puccini, I could go on and on.
My favorite piece?? That depends on the week.
For this week:
Mendelssohn-Violin Concerto e minor(played by Joshua Bell)

Beethoven, Chopin, Brahms, Debussy, Liszt, Shostakovich, Mozart, Bach, Scriabin, Ravel, Puccini....the list goes on and on. I tend to prefer romantic music, and as a pianist I have a strong preference for composers who wrote extensively for piano.

And my favorite piece varies from day to day. My favorite that I've performed is Liszt's Vall?e d'Obermann just because I actually pulled it off (it's 12 minutes long!), but I also love Chopin Nocturnes (Cm Op.48 No.1 in particular), Polonaise (F#m, Heroic, and Cm Op.40 no.2), and small pieces like Scriabin Etude in C#m, Op.2 no.1.

For bigger scale works...Rachmaninoff's 2nd Piano Concerto, Brahms 2nd piano concerto (one of the greatest of all piano concertos, imo), Beethoven Symphony #5 and 9. My favorite symphonic movement is probably the 2nd movement of Beethoven's 7th symphony.

I could go on for quite some time...
smile.gif

Dieman, can you recomend some good Piano and or Violin concertos? I really go for romantic pieces, mood music, the kind of classical that has aged well.

Can I make a suggestion(even though I am not diemen)
Prokifiev Piano concertos #3(#2 is alright)
Mendelssohn Violin concerto
Beethoven Violin concerto
I hate Rachmanivof(sp?)piano concertos, so listen at your own risk, although many people enjoy them.