Any opinions on the Fender Deluxe Powerhouse Strat?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lylas

The Fly
So, I've been playing on my nice Takamine G series acoustic for about 6 months now, and I'd like to get an electric guitar as well. I'd really like something that was pretty versatile (can play nice clean shimmering sounds to loud fat sounds), and I'll probably be playing mostly U2, from Boy to ATYCLB. I've been looking on the web, and the Deluxe Powerhouse strat seems to fit the bill. Just wondering if anyone has played one of these or has any opinions on them. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

A friend of mine has a texas special fat strat...and it sounds wonderful. You mihgt wanna look into the gibsin explorers and les pauls as well. I o't know what the price difference will be though

The Powerhouse Strat is about $500-700, not such a bad price. I briefly looked at some the Gibson and Les Pauls and they seemed much more expensive. I don't really want to spend that kind of money yet. The Fat Strats have a humbucker (just learned that word yesterday!) and two single coils on them, I believe, and my boss was saying you can't get some of the single coil sounds because you lose one to the humbucker. Haha, talking about my guitars is proving to be a good way to socialize with my boss. I don't share many of the other interests with the guys and bosses at work (cigars, beer, and golf), so it's been cool that I can at least talk to him about some non-work related stuff and not be left out of everything completely because I'm the only female around here.

Oh, but back to the guitar. The Powerhouse is supposed to have an active booster on it that's supposed to let you get humbucker like sounds, but you still have the three single coils of the standard Strat. I'll probably head on down to Mars this evening and see if I like how it sounds.