Adam's bass playing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

marik

Refugee
i don't really know much about bass playing style, skill, technique, what is frowned upon, what is respected, what bass lines are easy, what are really hard,

so if there's any bass players out there that want to inform me, specifically with adam, and how he's progressed over his career, referencing certain songs and such, i would greatly appricate it.

i just want to be able to appricate what adam does more!

Wow this is a very broad question. I think if you asked five different bass players each one would give you a different answer.

I'm a self taught player and I've learned a lot by watching dvd's of live performances whether it be of U2 or other bands. Plus I go and see a lot of live music and I watch different bass players play.

People will always tell you there is a text book way to do something but when in reality there are many ways to do the same thing. When I first started playing I didn't have a clue what I was doing but I just fumbled around on the bass until I found what worked for me. I tend to play more with a pick than with my fingers. Adam uses a combination of both.

In the earlier days Adam was a mad man on bass. You will catch him using a pick more on earlier albums. He also had an affinity for bass chords. Some people find playing with a pick to be much easier than playing with their fingers, especially when starting out. I know I did. If you want to play with a pick I would recommend using a heavy weight pick to start with.

As of what is respected and frowned upon, that will vary with the type of music.